en-USzh-HKzh-CN

FAQs about Practices -
Highlights of the “All You Can Ask” series


 

1.       I am a salesperson. Do I need to inform the EAA when I was employed by an estate agency or when I ceased to be engaged in estate agency work after my cessation of employment? Or is my employer responsible for informing the EAA?
     
   

Section 40(2) of the Estate Agents Ordinance prescribes that where a licensed estate agent, employs a person as a salesperson (whether the employee is the holder of an Estate Agent’s Licence (Individual) or a Salesperson’s Licence) or ceases to employ a person as a salesperson, the licensed estate agent should notify the EAA in writing within 31 days. If the salesperson ceases to be engaged in estate agency work after the cessation of employment, he shall, pursuant to Section 40(1) of the Ordinance, notify the EAA in writing within 31 days of his cessation of work.

Licensed estate agents should use prescribed forms for notifications of the above matters. For the employment or cessation of a person as a salesperson, Form 9 should be used. Form 8 is for licensees to notify the EAA of their cessation of engagement in estate agency work. These two forms may be downloaded from the EAA website. Licensees may also file Form 8 through e-Service which is available at the EAA website.

     TOP
     
2.      If an estate agent arranges for a client to view a residential property and enters into an estate agency agreement with him, but then the client purchases the property from the vendor direct, does the estate agent have the right to claim commission from the client?
     
   

It is stipulated in item 5 of Schedule 3 of the Estate Agency Agreement for Purchase of Residential Properties in Hong Kong (Form 4) that “the Purchaser is also liable to pay commission to the Agent for services rendered with regard to the property concerned if the Purchaser or the spouse, or any nominee, undisclosed principal or agent of the Purchaser enters into a binding agreement for sale and purchase with the vendor of any one or more of the Properties during the Validity Period, whether through the Agent or otherwise.”

In other words, even if the client purchases the property direct from the vendor, as long as the purchase is made during the validity period of the agreement, the client is legally obliged to pay commission to his appointed estate agent.

     TOP
     
3.      An estate agent received instructions from a vendor for leasing his residential property but he did not sign any estate agency agreement. Instead, the client gives the estate agency company his written consent for issuing an advertisement for his property. Is the estate agent allowed to issue an advertisement for his property?
     
   

Section 9(2) of the Estate Agents Practice (General Duties and Hong Kong Residential Properties) Regulation (“Practice Regulation”) prescribes that a licensed estate agent shall obtain a vendor's written consent prior to the issue of an advertisement in respect of the vendor's residential property. Although there is no stipulation in Practice Regulation on the format of the written consent prior to the issue of an advertisement in respect of the vendor’s (or landlord’s) residential property, the licensee must note that under section 6(1) of the Practice Regulation, a licensed estate agent who acts for a vendor (or landlord) shall enter into an estate agency agreement with the vendor (or landlord) (a) within seven working days after accepting an instruction to sell or lease the residential property concerned; or (b) prior to advertising the property for sale or lease; or (c) prior to signing an agreement for sale and purchase or a lease of the property, whichever is the earlier.

Estate agency agreements for residential properties are prescribed forms under the Estate Agents Ordinance. They set out the rights and duties of consumers and estate agents, and help protect the interests of both parties. Therefore, licensees should enter into an estate agency agreement with their clients when they deal with residential properties.

     TOP
     
4.      Is dissemination of property development information on some social networking websites regarded as an online advertisement? Is it necessary to state the number of Statement of Particulars of Business in those advertisements?
     
   

When issuing advertisements, licensees must comply with the relevant requirements in the Estate Agents Ordinance, Estate Agents (Licensing) Regulation and the Estate Agents Practice (General Duties and Hong Kong Residential Properties) Regulation. One of the requirements is to state clearly and conspicuously the number of the estate agent’s licence or Statement of Particulars of Business and the business name in the advertisements. Depending on the circumstances of the case, the dissemination of property development information on social networking websites may also be regarded as an advertisement, and if so, the abovementioned requirement must also be complied with.

     TOP
     
5.      Does an estate agent need to clearly state that it is “saleable area” in the advertisement when he provides the saleable area of a residential property in the advertisement?
     
   

According to the relevant Practice Circular (No. 12-02 (CR)), if the floor area information of a property is included in an advertisement and the saleable area of the property can be obtained from either the Rating and Valuation Department or the agreement for sale and purchase of the first assignment of the property registered in the Land Registry, then licensees are required to provide the saleable area of the property in the advertisement. Licensees must also clearly state in the advertisement that the floor area provided is the saleable area of the property in order to avoid any misunderstanding.

     TOP
     
6.      If an estate agent is appointed as an exclusive estate agent to sell a client’s property, but the client eventually sells the property to his neighbour direct, does the client need to pay commission to the estate agency?
     
   

As stipulated in Schedule 4 of the Estate Agency Agreement for Sale of Residential Properties in Hong Kong (Form 3), if the vendor has appointed an estate agent as his exclusive agent, but sells the property through another estate agency during the validity period, his exclusive agent has a right to claim commission from him.

However, if the client sells the property to the purchaser direct instead of the exclusive agent or another estate agent, he does not need to pay commission to the exclusive agent.

     TOP
     
7.      Are estate agency companies allowed to promote that they will only charge a small amount of commission (or no commission), or even mention that they will offer a commission rebate to their clients?
     
   

The Estate Agents Ordinance (“EAO”) and its subsidiary legislations have no stipulation on the amount or rate of commission that estate agents are entitled to or whether estate agents can offer any incentive to their clients. It is subject to the negotiation between the estate agent and his client.

However, according to the Practice Circular No.13-04(CR) issued by the EAA on the conduct in the promotional activities of first sales, licensees must set out in writing any promise of incentives, including any gifts, discounts or rebates they have made to prospective purchasers, and stipulate clearly the terms and format of incentives offered by the developer or their estate agency companies.

In addition, the EAO stipulates that if an estate agent represents both the vendor and the purchaser, he shall disclose to their clients any pecuniary or other beneficial interests in relation to the property to all parties concerned, including the amount of commission. According to the Code of Ethics issued by the EAA, estate agents must also provide services to clients with honesty, fidelity and integrity, protect and promote the interests of their clients, and act in a fair and impartial manner to all parties involved in the transactions.

     TOP
     
8.      An estate agent is acting for a purchaser to purchase a residential property. Before the estate agent arranges for the client to enter into a provisional agreement for sale and purchase with the vendor, what documents or information should the estate agent provide him with?
     
   

Prior to signing a provisional agreement for sale and purchase with the vendor, a licensee should have provided the purchaser client with the following:

  • Property Information Form (i.e. Form 1 as stipulated in the EAO), unless he has specially waived his right to receive it
  • A copy of the latest land search record

     

    Information listed in the Property Information Form includes ownership, subsisting encumbrances (if any), the floor area, year of completion and user restrictions of the property.

    According to the relevant Practice Circular (No. 13-06 (CR)), licensees should supply a copy of the provisional agreement to the party as soon as that party has signed the agreement. If any of the terms of the provisional agreement have been varied by making amendment(s) on the provisional agreement itself, licensees should supply a copy of the amended version of the provisional agreement to the parties and seek a written receipt thereof from the party concerned as soon as practicable.

         TOP
         
    9.      The Property Information Online (PIO) service of the Rating and Valuation Department (RVD) provides information on user restrictions in respect of residential properties. However, RVD is not a “prescribed source” of “user restrictions” as specified in the Property Information Form. Can an estate agent fill in the form according to information on user restrictions provided by the RVD?
         
       

    The information on permitted occupation purposes in respect of residential properties provided by the PIO of the RVD originates from the Occupation Permits issued by the Buildings Department.

    Hence, for the purpose of complying with the requirements on the provision of prescribed property information under the Estate Agents Practice (General Duties and Hong Kong Residential Properties) Regulation, the information on permitted occupation purposes in respect of residential properties obtained from the PIO will be regarded by the EAA as obtained from a prescribed source.

         TOP
         
    10.      What are “encumbrances”?
         
       

    Certain encumbrances might be registered against a property. For example, when certain kinds of documents such as Court Orders, Charging Orders, Memorandum of outstanding management fees, etc., have been registered against the property, the sale of the property might become complicated. Due to the defective title of this kind of properties, their transactions might be cancelled by the purchaser. Therefore, in order to avoid any disputes, licensees should be very careful when handling the transaction of properties with subsisting encumbrances, and they should inform their clients of the details of encumbrances and the related risks before the transaction.

    Common causes for registering encumbrances against a property include the property owner’s failure to make repayments to a bank, financial institution, management company or other personal debts and thus being sued by creditors; breaches against the Buildings Ordinance due to the existence of unauthorised building works or not complying with any building orders; violating the deed of mutual covenant and being sued by the incorporated owners or other owners of the building etc.

    Licensees should bear in mind that the licensee who acts for the vendor of a residential property must conduct a land search and provide a copy of the land search of the property to the purchaser immediately before an agreement for sale and purchase is entered into. If licensees discover the above mentioned encumbrances registered against the property through a land search, licensees should inform clients honestly, reminding them (no matter whether they are vendors or purchasers) of the related risk in that property transaction and advise them to seek legal advice before proceeding with the transaction.

         TOP
    EVENT CALENDAR

    Upcoming schedule of CPD and Examinations

    Learn More
    LICENSEE

    Useful quick links for Licensees

    Learn More
    CONSUMER CORNER

    FAQ and useful information for consumers

    Learn More
    PROSPECTIVE LICENSEE

    Useful information before becoming an estate agent

    Learn More

en-USzh-HKzh-CN

從業員執業常問問題 -
《有問有答》系列精選


 

1.       我是一名營業員,如果被地產代理公司僱用或我想離職後不再從事地產代理工作,我要通知監管局嗎?抑或是由僱用本人的地產代理公司通知?
     
   

根據《地產代理條例》第40(2)條,持牌地產代理僱用任何人為營業員(不論他所持的是地產代理(個人)牌照還是營業員牌照),或終止僱用任何營業員時,該持牌地產代理須於31天內以書面通知監管局。若該營業員在離職後不再從事地產代理工作,按《地產代理條例》第40(1)條規定,則須由他本人在終止從事該工作起計31天內以書面通知監管局。

持牌人應使用訂明的表格通知監管局上述的事項。僱用或終止僱用任何人為營業員應使用表格9,終止從事地產代理工作則使用表格8,這些表格均可在監管局網頁下載。持牌人亦可以透過監管局網頁的電子服務向監管局遞交表格8。

     TOP
     
2.      假如某客戶經某地產代理視察某一住宅單位,並就此簽署地產代理協議( 俗稱「 睇樓紙」 ),但最後該客戶直接向該單位的業主購入物業,該地產代理有權向該客戶追討佣金嗎?
     
   

適用於購買香港住宅物業的「 地產代理協議」 ( 表格4 ) 或俗稱「 睇樓紙」 內的附表3 的第5 項訂明,如「 買方或買方的配偶、任何代名人、未經披露身分的主事人或代理人在有效期內( 不論是否透過代理),與任何一項或多於一項物業的賣方訂立具約束力的買賣協議,則買方須就代理就有關物業而提供的服務向代理支付佣金。」

換言之,即使該客戶直接向該單位的業主購入物業,只要有關交易是在協議的有效期內進行,該客戶亦有法律上的責任,向其所委託的地產代理繳付佣金。

     TOP
     
3.      某地產代理收到業主指示放盤出租其住宅物業,業主沒有簽署地產代理協議,但以書面授權其地產代理公司發出該物業廣告,請問該地產代理可否為該業主的物業作廣告宣傳?
     
   

根據《地產代理常規(一般責任及香港住宅物業)規例》(《常規規例》)第9(2)條,持牌地產代理在就賣方的住宅物業發出廣告之前,須取得該賣方的書面同意。雖然《常規規例》並沒有對地產代理在就賣方(或業主)的住宅物業發出廣告之前,須取得該賣方(或業主)的書面同意的格式作任何訂明,但持牌人須留意,根據《常規規例》第6(1)條,為賣方(或業主)行事的持牌地產代理須在(a)接受出售或出租有關的住宅物業的指示後7個工作日內;或(b)就該物業的出售或出租而作廣告宣傳之前;或(c)就該物業簽署買賣協議或租契之前(三者之中以最早者為準)與該賣方(或業主)訂立地產代理協議。

住宅物業的地產代理協議是法例訂明的表格,且列岀消費者與地產代理的權責,對雙方都有保障。因此,持牌人在處理住宅物業交易時,應與客戶訂立地產代理協議。

     TOP
     
4.      地產代理在一些社交網站上發放樓盤資訊,是否屬於網上廣告?是否需要列出營業詳情說明書號碼?
     
   

持牌人發布的物業廣告必須符合《地產代理條例》、《地產代理(發牌)規例》及《地產代理常規(一般責任及香港住宅物業)規例》的有關規定,其中包括必須在所有廣告內清楚而顯眼地述明地產代理的牌照號碼或營業詳情說明書的號碼及營業名稱。視乎個別情況,在社交網站上發布的樓盤資訊也可能被視為廣告,而網上的廣告亦須要遵守上述的要求。

     TOP
     
5.      如地產代理在廣告內提供住宅物業的實用面積,他是否要清楚列明所提供的面積資料是物業的「實用面積」?
     
   

根據監管局發出相關的執業通告(編號12-02(CR)),如廣告內載有物業的樓面面積資料,而該物業的實用面積是可從差餉物業估價署或在土地註冊處註冊的首次轉讓的買賣協議中取得的,則持牌人必須在廣告內提供該物業的實用面積,以及在廣告內清楚述明所提供的樓面面積是該物業的實用面積,以避免任何誤會。

     TOP
     
6.      如果某客戶委託了某地產代理公司為獨家代理推銷其住宅物業,但最後該客戶將物業直接售予其鄰居,該客戶是否須要繳付佣金給該地產代理公司?
     
   

根據出售香港住宅物業用的「地產代理協議」 ( 表格3 ) 或俗稱「 放盤紙」 的附表4 ,賣方如委託了一家地產代理公司為獨家代理,但在委託期內經另一家地產代理公司出售了有關物業,他的獨家代理有權向賣方追討佣金。

然而,如果客戶直接將其物業售予他人,而非經該獨家代理或其他地產代理公司,他並不須要為此繳付佣金予該獨家代理。

     TOP
     
7.      地產代理公司可否宣傳只收取部分佣金(或免佣),甚至表示提供佣金回贈予客戶?
     
   

《地產代理條例》及其附屬法例並沒有就地產代理收取的佣金數額或比率,或可否向買家提供優惠有任何訂明,而是視乎地產代理與客戶雙方的協議。

然而,根據監管局發出的執業通告(編號13-04(CR))訂明,地產代理在銷售一手住宅物業時,須將其提供予準買家的任何優惠(包括任何送贈、折扣或回贈)以書面形式告知準買家,具體列明提供優惠的條款及形式,並說明該優惠是由賣方提供,抑或是由其所屬的地產代理公司提供。

此外,《地產代理條例》訂明,假如地產代理同時代表買賣雙方,他們必須向客戶表明,以及向各方詳盡披露因該物業而獲得的金錢或其他實益利益,包括佣金的數額。根據監管局發出的《操守守則》,地產代理必須秉持誠實、忠誠和嚴正的態度向客戶提供服務,保障和促進客戶利益,對交易各方公平公正。

     TOP
     
8.      某地產代理代表某買方客戶購入某一個住宅單位,在與業主簽訂臨時買賣合約前,有甚麼文件或資料是該地產代理必須向該客戶提供的?
     
   

與業主簽訂臨時買賣合約前,持牌人應該已向其買方客戶提供:

  • 「 物業資料表格」 ( 即《 地產代理條例》 內訂明的表格1 ) ,除非該買方客戶明確表示放棄收取此表格; 及
  • 最新的土地查冊副本。

     

    「物業資料表格」 列明的資料包括物業的業權、 有否有效的產權負擔、 物業的樓面面積、 落成年份、 用途限制等。

    根據監管局發出相關的執業通告(編號13-06(CR)),在協議的一方已簽署臨時協議後,持牌人應隨即向該訂約方提供一份該協議的副本。如持牌人為更改臨時協議內的任何條款而在該協議上作出修訂,應向訂約各方提供一份已修訂版本的臨時協議的副本,並在切實可行的範圍內盡快要求訂約各方書面確認已收取該副本。

         TOP
         
    9.      差餉物業估價署(差估署)的「物業資訊網」有提供住宅物業許可用途的資料,但差估署並非「物業資料表格」內有關物業用途限制的訂明來源。地產代理可否根據差估署所提供的物業許可用途資料填寫表格?
         
       

    差估署的「物業資訊網」發放的物業許可用途資料,來源為屋宇署發出的「佔用許可証」。

    因此,就符合《地產代理常規(一般責任及香港住宅物業)規例》下提供指定物業資料的目的而言,地產代理若從「物業資訊網」取得的住宅物業的許可用途資料,監管局會視之為來自訂明來源。

         TOP
         
    10.      何謂「釘契」?
         
       

    「釘契」是指因為物業的土地登記冊上載錄了某些註冊文件(例如法庭命令、押記令、欠交管理費備忘錄等),使物業的業主難以放售有關物業。由於這類物業的業權欠妥,交易有可能被取消,故持牌人在處理這些被「釘契」的物業的交易時,應該格外小心,在客戶決定交易前,向其解釋清楚物業被「釘契」的詳情及有關風險,避免發生無謂爭拗。

    物業被「釘契」的原因有很多,其中較為常見的,包括因業主拖欠銀行、財務公司、管理公司或其他私人債務而被債權人循法律途徑追討及凍結資產;或因物業違反 《建築物條例》 如附有僭建物或未有遵循維修令;又或因物業違反大廈公契條款而被業主立案法團或其他業主提出申索等等。

    持牌人須知道,代表住宅物業賣方的持牌人,要在緊接物業的買賣合約訂立之前,就該物業進行土地查冊及向該物業的買方提供該份土地查冊的文本。倘若持牌人在土地查冊中發現該物業被「釘契」,必須如實告知客戶。不論該客戶是賣方或買方,也應提醒有關買賣該物業所涉及的風險,並建議客戶在繼續有關買賣前,先尋求法律意見。

         TOP
    活動月曆

    將會舉行的持續專業進修計劃和資格考試

    更多
    持牌人

    持牌人常用快速連結

    更多
    消費者專區

    給消費者的有用資料及常見問題

    更多
    準備考牌

    成為持牌人前的有用資料

    更多