en-USzh-HKzh-CN
 
Monograph : Conveyancing Contents
(3) Formal Agreement for Sale and Purchase
 
 

The formal agreement for sale and purchase is usually prepared by the vendor's solicitors for the approval of the purchaser's solicitors and comes after a provisional agreement for sale and purchase in a conveyancing transaction. Like a provisional agreement, there are no standard forms for a formal agreement. The terms and conditions contained in a formal agreement are in greater detail and cover a wider range of matters than a provisional agreement, although it also incorporates the basic terms as agreed between the parties in the provisional agreement. A formal agreement usually contains or deals with the following provisions or matters:

1.

Particulars of the vendor and the purchaser

These will be particularised in the formal agreement.

   
2.

Agreement to sell and purchase

The vendor agrees to sell and the purchaser agrees to purchase the property specified in paragraph 3.

   
3.

Property

Particulars of the property will be set out in the formal agreement. A land search of the property at the Land Registry will reveal the description of the property according to the Land Registry record, including equal undivided shares in land, the lot number of the land on which the property stands and postal address of the property. An example of the description of property appearing in a formal agreement may read: "All That 1/1,000th equal undivided part or share of and in Section A of Inland Lot No.1234 together with the exclusive right to the use occupation and enjoyment of All That Flat A on the 8th Floor of Block 8 of Lucky Garden, 8 Luck Street, Hong Kong". If the price includes a car park or flat roof or roof, the same will constitute part of the property and have to be clearly stated in the formal agreement.

   
4.

Purchase price and manner of payment

The price and manner of payment will be specified in the formal agreement.

   
5.

Completion date

The completion date and time will be specified in the formal agreement. The completion time is usually between 9am and 5pm if the completion date falls on a day from Monday to Friday or between 9am and 1pm if it falls on a Saturday.

   
6.

Place for completion

The place for completion is usually the office of the vendor's solicitors.

   
7.

Furniture and fixtures

If the price includes furniture and fittings, such items should be listed in the formal agreement and the following provisions are usually included:

a. The furniture and fixtures will be sold on an "as is" basis;
   
b. The vendor will not warrant the condition of the furniture or fixtures;
   
c. The vendor will warrant that the furniture and fixtures are not subject to any hire-purchase agreement and are free from any other encumbrances; and
   
d. Failure by the vendor to comply with this clause will not entitle the purchaser to withdraw from the purchase (that is, the purchaser has to complete) and the only remedy the purchaser has is to claim damages against the vendor.
   
8.

Good title

The vendor agrees to prove and give good title to the property at his expense and shall at the like expense produce attested or certified copies of documents required to be produced under S.13 of the Conveyancing and Property Ordinance. In brief, the vendor has to prove good title by producing to the purchaser title deeds of the property dating back at least 15 years from the present transaction. It is of vital importance to the purchaser that the title of the property should not be affected by any major defects which adversely affect its marketability.

   
9.

Requisition on title

Requisition on title has to be raised with the vendor's solicitors within a specified period of time, usually within seven working days of the receipt of title deeds by the purchaser, failing which the purchaser shall be deemed to have accepted title.

   
10.

Purchaser's insistence on requisitions

If the purchaser insists on any requisition which the vendor is unable to resolve, the vendor shall be at liberty to annul the sale by giving to the purchaser a stated period of notice, for example, not less than seven days' written notice. Unless such requisition has been withdrawn in the meantime, upon expiry of the said notice, the formal agreement will be annulled and the purchaser entitled to the return of all deposits paid without compensation whilst all the title deeds will be returned to the vendor.

   
11.

Originals of documents

Title deeds which relate exclusively to the property will be delivered to the purchaser.

   
12.

Encumbrances and easements

The property will be sold subject to and with the benefit of the terms and conditions of the government grant and Deed of Mutual Covenant relating to the property. 

   
13.

Vacant possession

Unless the property is sold subject to an existing tenancy, the vendor shall deliver vacant possession of the property to the purchaser upon completion.

   
14.

Risk of property

Immediately after signing the formal agreement, the property will be at the purchaser's risk.

   
15.

Purchaser's failure to complete

If the purchaser fails to complete according to the formal agreement, the vendor will have the following remedies:

a. All the deposits paid by the purchaser (usually not exceeding 10% of the price) will be absolutely forfeited to the vendor;
   
b. The vendor will be entitled to rescind the sale;
   
c. The vendor may resell the property;
   
d. If the price on resale by the vendor is lower than the price stated in the formal agreement, the purchaser shall be liable for the deficiency in price arising from the resale and all incidental expenses;
   
e. Any increase in price on resale shall belong to the vendor;
   
f. The vendor is entitled to register at the Land Registry a memorandum signed by the vendor alone to rescind the sale and to vacate the registration of the formal agreement; and
   
g. The vendor may claim against the purchaser for any other damages caused by the purchaser's failure to complete.
   
16.

Vendor's failure to complete

If the vendor fails to complete according to the formal agreement, the purchaser will have the following remedies:

a. All the deposits paid shall be returned to the purchaser; and
   
b. The purchaser may claim against the vendor for any other damages caused by the vendor's failure to complete.
   
17.

Specific performance1

If any party fails to complete according to the formal agreement, the other party may claim specific performance of the formal agreement either in lieu of or in addition to a claim for damages against the defaulting party.

   
18.

Time of essence

Time shall be of the essence of the formal agreement (that is, both parties shall strictly comply with the time limits mentioned in the agreement). Regarding the time for completion, it has been held by the court in a number of cases that even if the purchaser was only a few minutes late in tendering the balance of purchase price on the date of completion, the purchaser was in breach of the agreement as time was of the essence. Thus, for example, if the time for completion is stated as at or before 5pm on 31 December 2001, the purchaser has to tender the balance of the purchase price to the vendor at or before 5pm on 31 December 2001 and any delay beyond 5pm will render the purchaser in breach of the agreement and may entitle the vendor to forfeit the deposits and rescind the sale.

   
19.

Property sold on "as is" basis

The property will be sold on an "as is" basis. The purchaser has inspected the property and has accepted its physical condition. No warranty is given by the vendor on the physical condition of the property. (See also Chapter 2, paragraph 14.)

   
20.

Orders or notices before completion

The formal agreement may deal with:

a. Orders or notices issued by any government authority before completion requiring the vendor to demolish or reinstate the property or any part thereof: such notices/orders are usually the result of unauthorised alterations/structures affecting the property and as such, give rise to requisition on title. It is usual to provide in the formal agreement that in such event, the vendor shall bear the cost for such demolition or reinstatement and the purchaser may elect to rescind the formal agreement and be refunded all the deposits paid (unless the vendor has disclosed the existence of such unauthorised structures/alterations before the provisional agreement and the purchaser has accepted the same).
   
b. Orders or notices issued by the government or the incorporated owners or the manager of the building before completion requiring the vendor as a co-owner to contribute to the cost of repair or renovation to the common areas or facilities: whether the vendor or the purchaser should bear such cost is a matter of contractual agreement between the parties. Therefore, the issue is best raised and agreed between the parties at the provisional agreement stage to avoid dispute at the formal agreement stage or thereafter.
   
c. Orders or notices issued under the Lands Resumption Ordinance, Town Planning Ordinance etc., before completion requiring resumption of the property: it is usual to provide in the formal agreement that in such event, the purchaser may rescind the agreement and be refunded all the deposits paid.
   
21.

Vendor's solicitors as agent

The vendor will declare that the vendor's solicitors are the vendor's agent for the purpose of receiving all money payable to the vendor and that payment of any money to the agent shall be a sufficient discharge of the purchaser's obligations to pay under the formal agreement.

   
22.

Stamp duty

All stamp duty payable in respect of the Provisional Agreement, formal agreement and subsequent assignment shall be paid by the purchaser. In the event that the price stated in any of the said documents is not accepted by the Collector of Stamp Revenue as representing the true consideration of the property, the additional stamp duty charged by the Collector of Stamp Revenue in accordance with his valuation of the property shall also be borne and paid by the purchaser.

   
23.

Apportionment of outgoings

All outgoings of the property shall be paid by the vendor up to (exclusive or inclusive of the day of completion to be agreed between the vendor and purchaser) completion and as from (inclusive or exclusive of the day of completion to be agreed between the vendor and the purchaser) completion all outgoings shall be paid by the purchaser. All outgoings shall be apportioned between the vendor and the purchaser. Usually, the outgoings which need to be apportioned include the management fee deposit, management fee, rates and government rent. What normally happens is that on or before completion, the vendor provides his solicitors or estate agent with receipts for the relevant deposits and outgoings for them to work out an apportionment account. The account will show what amount is owed and by whom. The party who has to make a payment to the other party according to the apportionment account will pay the amount, sometimes upon completion and sometimes after completion. In any event, the purchaser should receive the originals of the relevant receipts.

Example

The vendor and the purchaser agree to complete the sale and purchase of the property on 15 December 2001. The vendor has paid rates of $1,800.00 for the months from October to December 2001 but has not paid the management fee of $800 for the month of December 2001. The management fee deposit is $1,800.00. On the basis of the vendor paying up to but exclusive of the day of completion, the apportionment account will be as follows:

Apportionment Account

Amount payable by the purchaser to the vendor:

1.

Management fee deposit

$1,800.00

2.

Rates ($1,800 x 17/92*)

$332.61

--------------------------

$2,132.61

* There are 17 days from 15 December to 31 December. There are 92 days in the months of October, November and December.

Less: amount payable by vendor to purchaser:

Management fee ($800 x 14/31*)

$361.29

------------------------

Net balance payable by purchaser to vendor:

$ 1,771.32

==============

* * There are 31 days in the month of December. There are 14 days from 1 December to 14 December.

In respect of other utility charges, such as water, gas and electricity, the normal practice is for the vendor to obtain a refund for the relevant deposits from the utility companies directly and for the purchaser to pay deposits to the utility companies in order to open accounts in the purchaser's name. The vendor will also be advised to record meter readings of utilities upon completion in order to ascertain the liabilities of the vendor towards such charges.

   
24.

Solicitor's costs

Each party shall bear his own solicitor's costs of and incidental to the formal agreement and the subsequent assignment.

   
25.

Discharge of existing mortgage

The parties are aware that the property is presently subject to the mortgage more particularly set out in the formal agreement. The vendor undertakes that the vendor will, on or before completion of the sale and purchase of the property, pay to the mortgagee the amount required to obtain a release of the property so that the property will be assigned to the purchaser free from the said mortgage. The vendor's solicitors shall write or have already written to the mortgagee for the amount payable to obtain a release of the property.

   
26.

Vendor's capacity

In most cases, the vendor will assign the property as beneficial owner (other capacities include trustee, confirmor, mortgagee and personal representative). The capacity in which the vendor is expressed to assign in the subsequent assignment of the property decides the covenants for title implied in such assignment. In brief, if the vendor assigns in the capacity of beneficial owner, the implied covenants for title will be more comprehensive and protective to the purchaser than if the vendor assigns in other capacities.

   
27.

Inspection by purchaser's mortgagee

The vendor shall allow the purchaser's mortgagee to view the property once for valuation purpose upon reasonable prior notice being given to the vendor before completion.

   
28.

Final inspection by purchaser

The vendor shall allow the purchaser to view the property once before completion and upon reasonable prior notice being given to the vendor to verify delivery of vacant possession.

   
29.

Third party clause

The vendor declares and confirms that no third party has any right or interest in the property. In the event that there is any third party claim against the property on or before completion, the vendor shall forthwith refund to the purchaser all the deposits paid and without prejudice to the purchaser's right to claim against the vendor for all damages sustained by the purchaser by reason of the vendor's failure to complete the sale in accordance with the terms of the Formal Agreement.

1 The right to claim specific performance is usually expressly excluded in the provisional agreement.  (See also Chapter 2, paragraphs 11 and 12.)

 
<<Back

Next>>

EVENT CALENDAR

Upcoming schedule of CPD and Examinations

Learn More
LICENSEE

Useful quick links for Licensees

Learn More
CONSUMER CORNER

FAQ and useful information for consumers

Learn More
PROSPECTIVE LICENSEE

Useful information before becoming an estate agent

Learn More

en-USzh-HKzh-CN
 
专题论集:香港物业转易 目录
(3)正式买卖合约
 
  在一项物业转易的交易里,正式买卖合约通常是由卖方律师预备(买方律师可提出修改),并于临时买卖合约后才签订。与临时买卖合约一样,正式买卖合约是没有标准格式的。载于正式买卖合约内的条款及条件一般会比临时买卖合约的条款详细,并涉及较广泛的范围,但正式买卖合约亦会转载双方在临时买卖合约内所同意之基本条款。一份正式买卖合约惯常载有下列条款或处理下列问题︰
     
  1. 买卖双方之身分详情
     
    这些资料会于正式买卖合约内详细列明。
     
  2. 同意买卖
     
    卖方同意出售及买方同意购买在第3段指明的物业。
     
  3. 物业
     
    物业之详细资料将会载于正式买卖合约。在土地注册处的查册会找到物业的详细资料,包括其占土地之同等不能分割之份数、土地之地段编号及物业之邮寄地址。一般正式买卖合约内描述物业的方法如下:于内地段1234号分段A的一千份之一的同等不能分割的份数及对位于香港幸运街八号幸运花园第八座八楼A室的独有享用及占用权。若楼价包括车位、露台或天台,这些便会构成物业的一部份,并须在正式买卖合约内清楚列明。
     
  4. 楼价及其支付方式
     
    楼价及支付的方式将会在正式买卖合约内列明。
     
  5. 完成交易日期
     
    交易完成日期及时间应清楚列明在正式买卖合约内。而时间方面,若交易日为星期一至星期五,交易时间通常会由早上九时至下午五时,若交易日为星期六,则由早上九时至下午一时。
     
  6. 完成交易之地点
     
    交易一般会在卖方代表律师之律师行内完成。
     
  7.

家俬及固定物

若楼价包括家俬及任何装置,这些应列载于正式买卖合约内,同时合约通常包含以下条文︰

     
   
a. 家俬及装置将会以「现状」出售;
   
b. 卖方并不保证家俬及装置的状况;
   
c. 卖方保证家俬及装置并不受制于任何分期付款协议或其他第三者权益;及
   
d. 买方不可借卖方未能履行此条款而退出购买物业(即买方必须完成交易),买方之唯一补偿便是向卖方追讨损失。
     
  8. 良好业权
     
    卖方同意自费证明物业具有良好业权,并将会自费提供根据《物业转易及财产条例》第13条所须提供之文件的核证副本。概括而言,卖方须提供给买方有关物​​业过去不少于十五年的契据以证明业权良好。获得物业的良好业权对买方是非常重要的。简单来说,物业不应受严重瑕疵影响以至不能在市场上出售。
     
  9. 业权之查询
     
    有关业权资料之查询须于买方收到物业之契据文件后之一个特订时段(通常七个工作天)内由买方以书面形式向卖方律师提出,否则买方会被视为已接受物业具良好业权。
     
  10. 取消买卖
     
    若买方坚持物业未具良好业权,卖方有权在给予买方一个特订通知期(通常不少于七天)的书面通知后取消买卖,除非其间买方撤回有关物业业权的查询,前述之通知期届满后,正式买卖合约便会取消,而买方有权获退还所有订金但不获赔偿,而物业之契据文件亦须退还卖方。
     
  11. 正本文件
     
    专属于物业之文件的正本将会送交买方。
     
  12. 产权负担
     
    物业的出售受制并受惠于政府租批文件及大厦公契内所载之条文。
     
  13. 交吉
     
    除非物业连同租约出售,卖方在完成交易时须将物业交吉予买方。
     
  14. 物业的风险
     
    在签署正式买卖合约后,物业的风险由买方承担。
     
  15. 买方未能完成交易
     
    若买方未能依照正式买卖合约完成交易,则卖方可获得以下的补偿:
     
   
a. 买方已支付的所有订金将由卖方没收;
   
b. 卖方可取消正式买卖合约;
   
c. 卖方可再出售物业;
   
d. 若卖方再出售物业的楼价低过正式买卖合约内订定的楼价,则买方须负责因再出售物业所引致的任何差价及有关费用;
   
e. 再出售物业的楼价升幅归卖方所有;
   
f. 卖方有权在土地注册处登记一份由卖方单独签署之备忘录,以撤销售卖并解除正式买卖合约的登记;及
   
g. 卖方可向买方追讨因买方未能完成交易所导致的其他损失。
     
  16.

卖方未能完成交易

若卖方未能依照正式买卖合约完成交易,则买方可获得以下的补偿:

     
   
a. 所有已付之订金须归还给买方;及
   
b. 买方可向卖方追讨因卖方未能完成交易所引致的其他损失。
     
  17. 强制履行1
     
    若正式买卖合约的一方未能按照合约完成交易,则另一方除可向违约一方追讨上述赔偿外,更可要求强制执行正式买卖合约。
     
  18. 时间为要素
     
    时间乃正式买卖合约之要素(意即双方须严格遵守合约内所提及的时限)。有关完成交易的时间,以往有多个法庭案例曾判决买方即使仅迟了数分钟送交楼价余款亦算是违约,因时间乃合约之要素。因此,若完成交易的时间是定20011231日下午5时或之前,买方便须将楼价余款在20011231日下午5时或之前送交卖方,任何延误都会令买方违约,并给予卖方没收订金及终止买卖的权利。
     
  19. 物业以现状出售
     
    物业将会以「现状」出售。买方已检查物业并已接受物业之现时状况。卖方没有就物业之现状作出保证。 (请参考第2章之第14段)
     
  20. 完成交易前的命令或通告
     
   
a. 由任何政府部门在完成交易前发出的命令或通告要求卖方拆毁或还原物业或其任何部分–此等命令通常表示物业受非法构筑物或改建影响,因此可构成业权缺点。正式买卖合约通常订明卖方须负责该等拆毁或还原的费用,而买方有权选择取消正式买卖合约及获退还所有已支付的订金(除非卖方在签订临时买卖合约前已披露有关非法构筑物或改建的存在并为买方接受);
   
b. 由政府或大厦之业主立案法团或物业管理人在完成交易前发出的命令或通告要求卖方作为共有业权人支付公共地方或设施的修补或装修费用–买卖双方应在签订临时买卖合约阶段考虑并协议应由哪一方负责该等费用以避免在正式买卖合约阶段或以后就有关问题发生争议。
   
c. 根据《土地收回条例》、《城市规划条例》等在完成交易前发出的命令或通告要求收回物业–正式买卖合约通常订明在此情况下,买方有权取消正式买卖合约及获退还所有已支付的订金。
     
  21. 卖方律师作为代理人
     
    卖方声明代表卖方之律师行作为其代理人,有权代卖方收取所有必须支付给卖方的金钱,而向代理人支付任何金钱将足以解除买方在正式买卖合约内有关的责任。
     
  22. 印花税
     
    就临时买卖合约、正式买卖合约及之后的转让契所须缴付的所有印花税均由买方负责支付。若在前述文件内所列的楼价不被印花税署署长接纳为代表物业的真正代价,则印花税署署长根据其对物业的估价而征收之附加印花税仍由买方负责支付。
     
  23. 开支的分摊
     
    所有直至完成交易当日(包括或不包括交易完成当日,由买卖双方协商决定)有关物业的开支均由卖方负责支付,由此以后(包括或不包括交易完成当日,由买卖双方协商决定)的所有开支均由买方负责支付。所有开支将由买卖双方分摊。通常,须要分摊的开支包括管理费按金、管理费、差饷及地租。于完成交易或之前,卖方会将有关按金及开支的收据交予其代表律师或地产代理,让他们预备分摊帐目。帐目会显示要支付金额的一方所须支付的金额。要支付金额的一方会在完成交易时或之后支付有关金额。买方应可获得有关收据的正本。
     
   
     
    买卖双方同意于20011215< /span>日完成交易。卖方已支付$1,800作为200110月12月的差饷但并未支付200112月的管理费$800。管理费按金为$1,800。假设卖方同意支付所有至完成交易当日但不包括交易完成当日的开支,分摊帐目将会如下:
     
   

分摊帐目

     
   
买方须支​​付卖方的金额:
1.管理费按金
$1,800.00
2.差饷($1,800x17/92*)

$332.61

 
$2,132.61
     
    *1215日至31日共有17天。 1011月及 12月合共92天。
     
   
扣除︰卖方须支付买方的金额:
管理费($800x14/31**

$361.29

 
$1,771.32
     
    **12月有31天,12< /span>月1日至14日共有14天。
     
    有关其他公共服务的开支,如水费、煤气费及电费,卖方将自行从公共服务公司取回按金,而买方亦须自行向公共服务公司缴付按金以开立买方名义的帐户。卖方须在完成交易时记录公共服务的读数,以确定卖方应缴的费用。
     
  24. 律师费
     
    每一方须就正式买卖合约及之后的转让契负责其律师费。
     
  25. 解除现有按揭
     
    买卖双方知悉物业现时是受制于在正式买卖合约内详列的按揭。卖方承诺会在物业的交易完成时或之前支付赎回物业所需的金额予承按人,使物业可​​在不受制于前述按揭的情况下转让予买方。卖方律师将会或已经发信给承按人查询赎回物业所需的金额。
     
  26. 卖方出售的身分
     
    在大部分情况下,卖方将会以实益拥有人的身分将物业转让予买方(其他身分包括受托人、确认人、承按人及遗产代理人)。卖方的身分将决定在之后的转让契内卖方就业权所作出的隐含式的契诺内容。概括而言,若卖方以实益拥有人的身分将物业转让,业权的隐含式契诺将会比卖方以其他身分出售物业较为全面及对买方较为有保障。
     
  27. 买方的承按人之检查
     
    卖方将准许买方的承按人在完成交易前及在给予卖方合理的预先通知下视察物业一次作为估价用途。
     
  28. 买方最后视察物业
     
    卖方将准许买方在完成交易前及在给予卖方合理的预先通知下视察物业一次以确定物业将会交吉交易。
     
  29. 第三者条款
     
    卖方声明及确定没有第三者拥有物业之任何权利或权益。若在完成交易前有任何第三者对物业提出追讨,卖方将立刻退还所有订金予买方,买方仍可向卖方追讨所有因卖方未能依照正式买卖合约的条款完成交易所蒙受的损失。
     
    1.在临时买卖合约内买卖双方通常协议不向对方行使强制执行合约的权益请参考第2章之第11 12段)。
 
<<上一页

下一页>>

活动月历

将会举行的持续专业进修计划和资格考试

更多
持牌人

持牌人常用快速连结

更多
消费者专区

给消费者的有用资料及常见问题

更多
准备考牌

成为持牌人前的有用资料

更多