en-USzh-HKzh-CN
Monograph : Conveyancing Contents
(2) Provisional Agreement for Sale and Purchase  
 

In the property market in Hong Kong, it is common practice for the vendor and purchaser to enter into a provisional agreement for sale and purchase ("Provisional Agreement") of property, through either estate agents or solicitors. Although there are no standard forms, the following are usually provided or dealt with in the provisional agreement:

1.

Name, address and HKID number of vendor

The vendor's name, address, Hong Kong Identity Card number or other identification document details are stated in order to correctly identify the vendor. Estate agents should check the vendor's Hong Kong Identity Card or identification document details against the name of the registered owner for the property in the Land Registry to ensure the vendor is the registered owner before arranging for the vendor to sign the agreement.

(If the vendor is a limited company, the name, Business Registration Number and registered office of the limited company should be stated.)

   
2.

Name, address and HKID number of purchaser

The purchaser's name, address, Hong Kong Identity Card number or other identification document details are stated in order to correctly identify the purchaser.

(If the purchaser is a limited company, the name, Business Registration Number and registered office of the limited company should be stated.)

   
3.

Description of property

Generally speaking, the property's postal address is sufficient to identify the property. However, if the price includes a car park or flat roof or roof, the same will constitute part of the property and have to be clearly stated.

   
4.

Price

The agreed price for the property is expressed in either words or figures or both.

   
5.

Manner of payment

a. Initial deposit – this is usually payable by the purchaser to the vendor upon signing the provisional agreement (the amount of initial deposit to be paid is a matter of contract to be agreed between the vendor and the purchaser but is usually equivalent to 3%-5% of the price). However, if the property is in negative equity (that is, the balance of the purchase price is insufficient to repay the outstanding mortgage loan), the initial deposit should be made payable to the vendor's solicitors as stakeholders, for the purchaser's protection.
   
b.

Further deposit – this is usually payable to the vendor upon signing a formal agreement for sale and purchase ("formal agreement") on or before a specified date (normally, the initial deposit and further deposit will add up to 10% of the price). However, if the property is in negative equity, the further deposit should be made payable to the vendor's solicitors as stakeholders for the purchaser's protection.

   
c. Balance of price – this will be payable upon completion, with completion taking place on or before a specified date.
   
6.

Property free from undisclosed encumbrances

The property will be sold to the purchaser or his nominee(s) or sub-purchaser(s) free from encumbrances save as otherwise provided in the agreement. Generally speaking, encumbrances are charges or other liabilities to which the property is subject. Common examples of encumbrances include mortgages, charges, charging orders, etc. These should be discharged by the vendor on or before completion unless the vendor and the purchaser expressly agree otherwise in the provisional agreement.

   
7.

Delivery of vacant possession

The vendor shall deliver vacant possession of the property to the purchaser on completion unless the vendor and the purchaser expressly agree otherwise in the provisional agreement. It is the vendor's obligation to ensure that all occupants move out of the property and that furniture and electrical appliances not sold together with the property are removed from the property at or before completion. If the property is sold subject to tenancy, this has to be expressly stated in the provisional agreement and no vacant possession will be delivered to the purchaser.

   
8.

Vendor's solicitors

The vendor will specify a firm of solicitors who will represent him in the transaction.

   
9.

Purchaser's solicitors

The purchaser will specify a firm of solicitors who will represent him in the transaction.

   
10.

Legal cost and stamp duty

Usually, each party will bear and pay his own legal costs and the purchaser will pay all the stamp duty.

   
11.

Purchaser's default

Should the purchaser fail to complete pursuant to the agreement, the vendor shall be entitled to forfeiture of the initial deposit paid and thereafter the vendor shall have no further claim against the purchaser. (Note, however, some agreements may provide the alternative that the vendor shall be entitled to enforce specific performance, that is, compel the purchaser in court to proceed with the purchase of the property according to the terms of the agreement.)

   
12.

Vendor's default

Should the vendor fail to complete pursuant to the agreement, the vendor shall refund the initial deposit to the purchaser and compensate him with a sum equivalent to the amount of the initial deposit and thereafter the purchaser shall have no further claim against the vendor. (Note, however, some agreements may provide the alternative that the purchaser shall be entitled to enforce specific performance, that is, compel the vendor in court to proceed with the sale of the property according to the terms of the agreement.)

   
13.

Estate agent's commission

In consideration of the services provided in connection with the sale and purchase transaction, the estate agent is entitled to receive an agreed and specified commission from the vendor and the purchaser respectively. The amount and payment of the commission is subject to the respective estate agency agreements entered into by the estate agent with the vendor and the purchaser respectively. An estate agent who is agent for both the vendor and the purchaser in a transaction and is entitled to receive commission from both should disclose the fact to both the vendor and the purchaser.

   
14.

Property sold on "as is" basis

The property will be sold to the purchaser on an "as is" basis. The property will be sold and delivered to the purchaser in such physical condition as at the time the agreement is signed. It should be noted that sale on an "as is" basis does not protect the vendor from failure to disclose the existence of unauthorised alterations or structures affecting the property. Unless the purchaser accepts such unauthorised structures/alterations, the purchaser may challenge the title of the property on this basis.

   
15.

Defaulting party to pay commission

If either party fails to complete the sale or purchase, he shall immediately compensate the estate agent the total amount of the commission stated in the agreement. However, if the court finds that the amount stated as payable by a defaulting party is in the nature of a penalty (as opposed to liquidated damages), the purpose of which is to punish the defaulting party rather than to compensate the reasonably foreseeable loss of the injured party, as where it far exceeds such loss of the injured party, this will not be recoverable.

   
16.

Defaulting party to pay stamp duty

If either party fails to complete the sale or purchase, the defaulting party shall pay the stamp duty or reimburse the innocent party who has paid the same.

   
17.

Particular terms

Particular terms agreed between the parties have to be stated in the agreement, for example, where the purchase price includes a list of furniture or where the vendor allows the purchaser to enter the property for decoration before completion, or whether the vendor or the purchaser should bear any cost of repair/renovation works to the common areas/facilities required by an order/notice issued by the competent authority or Incorporated Owners before completion.

   
18.

Acknowledgement of receipt of initial deposit

The vendor will acknowledge receipt of the initial deposit by signing the receipt clause (if the property is in negative equity, the initial deposit should be paid to the vendor's solicitors as stakeholders for the purpose of discharging the existing mortgage).

Stamp duty (currently $100) is payable on a provisional agreement for sale and purchase relating to a residential property if the formal agreement for sale and purchase is signed more than 14 days from the signing of the provisional agreement.

 
<<Back

Next>>

EVENT CALENDAR

Upcoming schedule of CPD and Examinations

Learn More
LICENSEE

Useful quick links for Licensees

Learn More
CONSUMER CORNER

FAQ and useful information for consumers

Learn More
PROSPECTIVE LICENSEE

Useful information before becoming an estate agent

Learn More

en-USzh-HKzh-CN
专题论集:香港物业转易 目录
(2)临时买卖合约
 
  在香港的物业市场上,买方及卖方一般都会签订一份由地产代理或律师行预备的临时买卖合约。虽然临时买卖合约并没有标准格式,但下列事项一般都会于一份临时买卖合约内说明︰
     
  1. 卖方之姓名、地址及香港身分证号码
     
    卖方之姓名、地址及身分证明文件(通常为香港身分证号码)必须列明,以正确地辨认卖方之身份。在地产代理未安排卖方签署临时买卖合约前,地产代理须查核卖方之香港身分证或其他身份证明文件及有关物业在土地注册处的记录,以确保卖方是有关物业之注册业主。

(若卖方是一间有限公司,则有限公司名称、商业登记号码及注册地址亦必须列明。)

     
  2. 买方之姓名、地址及香港身分证号码
     
    买方之姓名、地址及身分证明文件(通常为香港身分证号码)必须列明,以正确地辨认买方之身分。

(若买方是一间有限公司,则有限公司名称、商业登记号码及注册地址亦必须列明。)

     
  3. 物业之描述
     
    一般而言,物业之邮寄地址已足够辨识有关物业。但若楼价包括车位、露台或天台,这些便会构成物业的一部分,必须清楚列明。
     
  4. 楼价
     
    双方同意的楼价会以文字及/或数目字表达。
     
  5. 支付楼价的方式
     
   
a. 临时订金-此金额通常会于买方签署临时买卖合约时支付予卖方(临时订金之金额由买卖双方协议决定,但一般相等于楼价之3%-5%)。但若物业是负资产(意即楼价余款不足以支付按揭还款),则临时订金应支付予卖方的代表律师作为保管人,以保障买方利益;
   
b. 加付订金-此金额通常会于指定签署正式买卖合约日由买方支付予卖方(通常,临时订金及加付订金合共相等于楼价之10%)。但若物业是负资产,则加付订金应支付予卖方的代表律师作为保管人,以保障买方利益;及
   
c. 楼价余款-此金额将会由买方于完成交易时支付予卖方,而交易则会在列明之指定日期或之前完成。
     
  6. 物业不受制于没有披露之产权负担
     
    除非合约另有协议,物业会在不受制于产权负担的情况下售予买方或其提名人或转购人。一般而言,产权负担是土地受制于任何土地押记或其他法律责任。例如:按揭、其他押记、押记令等。除非买卖双方另有协议,这些产权负担必须在交易完成前解除。
     
  7. 交吉
     
    除非买卖双方另有协议,卖方须于完成交易时将物业交吉予买方。卖方的责任是确保所有住户及不与物业一同售卖的家俬及电器杂物等在完成交易前迁离物业。但若物业是连租约出售,必须在临时合约内清楚列明。在此情况下,卖方不须将物业交吉予买方。
     
  8. 卖方代表律师
     
    卖方会列明代表他处理此买卖交易的律师行之名称。
     
  9. 买方代表律师
     
    买方会列明代表他处理此买卖交易的律师行之名称。
     
  10. 律师费及印花税
     
    一般而言,双方各自负责支付其律师费,印花税则由买方负责支付。
     
  11. 买方违约
     
    买方若未能依照合约完成交易,则卖方有权没收已付之临时订金,之后卖方不得向买方进一步追究责任。 (留意:有些合约可能订明卖方有权要求强制履行合约,强制买方根据合约购入物业。)
     
  12. 卖方违约
     
    卖方若未能依照合约完成交易,则卖方除须退还临时订金外,并须以同等数目的金额赔偿买方,之后买方不得向卖方进一步追究责任。 (留意:有些合约可能订明买方有权要求强制履行合约,强制卖方根据合约出售物业。)
     
  13. 地产代理之佣金
     
    基于地产代理人就该买卖交易所提供之服务,代理人有权向卖方及买方分别收取一个双方协定金额的佣金。佣金的数额及支付是受制于买卖各方与地产代理所签订的地产代理协议。若地产代理人提供服务予买卖双方并收取双方之佣金,地产代理人必须向买卖双方披露有关事实。
     
  14. 物业以现状出售
     
    物业将会以现状出售予买方,即是说物业会以签署合约时的实际状况售卖及交付买方。但必须注意「以现状出售」之条文不代表卖方有权要求买方接受未经披露而影响物业之非法构筑物或改建。除非买方接受,非法构筑物或改建可构成业权缺点。
     
  15. 违约方须支付佣金
     
    若任何一方未能依照合约完成交易,则违约一方须支付代理人根据合约有权向双方收取之佣金总额。但若违约一方须支付的金额是属惩罚性的赔偿(而非协定之损害赔偿),其目的是处罚违约一方并远超过受损害一方的损失(而非可合理预期之损失),这便不能追讨。
     
  16. 违约方须支付印花税
     
    若任何一方未能依照合约完成交易,则违约一方须支付印花税,若对方已支付印花税,则须向对方偿还。
     
  17. 特别条款
     
    任何买卖双方同意之特别条款,如楼价包括列明之家俬电器,或卖方容许买方在交易完成前进入物业进行装修,或买卖双方协议应由哪一方支付有关部门或业主立案法团在交易完成前发出有关大厦公众地方及设施维修或装修工程之命令或通告所须筹集之费用。
     
  18. 收到临时订金
     
    卖方签署确认收到临时订金(若物业是负资产,则临时订金应支付予卖方的代表律师作为保管人,以解除现有之按揭)。
     
  若一份住宅物业的正式买卖合约是在签署临时买卖合约后超过十四天才签署,则临时买卖合约须支付印花税(现时为$100)。
 
<<上一页

下一页>>

活动月历

将会举行的持续专业进修计划和资格考试

更多
持牌人

持牌人常用快速连结

更多
消费者专区

给消费者的有用资料及常见问题

更多
准备考牌

成为持牌人前的有用资料

更多