en-USzh-HKzh-CN
Monograph : Encumbrances Contents
 
  4. Interest of government
     
   
I. Government re-entry
   
 
a.

General

Certain actions by the owner of a property will invoke the right of government to re-enter the property, rendering his title defeasible. Actions which may trigger substantial government enforcement such as re-entry of the property, include:

   
 
i. Failure to obtain the necessary government consent for disposal of land which is required in the government grant;
   
ii. Failure to pay government rent;
   
iii. Breach of government lease conditions, such as those relating to user, height restrictions, repair obligations, etc;
   
iv. Failure to comply with building orders under the Buildings Ordinance (Cap. 123);
   
v. Erection and existence of illegal structures or alterations.
   
  Where land resumption orders have been issued in respect of the property, the same will be resumed by the Government or the relevant authorities. Some examples are:
   
 
i. Order to resume land for public purposes under the Land Resumption Ordinance (Cap. 124). Notice of resumption will be posted at the premises and published in the gazette;
   
ii. Order to resume land which has been rendered incapable of reasonably beneficial use as a result of drainage works under the Land Drainage Ordinance (Cap. 446);
   
iii. Order to resume land for the purposes of and incidental to the Mass Transit Railway under the Mass Transit Railway (Land Resumption and Related Provisions) Ordinance (Cap. 276). Notice of resumption will be posted at the premises and published in the gazette.
   
  Not every failure or breach would render the title to the property defeasible. Each case will turn on its own circumstances and the issue is whether there is a real risk of government enforcement action, the most serious of which is, of course, government re-entry. In case of doubt as to whether the property concerned will be subject to the risk of government enforcement action, the purchaser should be advised to seek legal advice before entering into any provisional agreement for sale and purchase.
   
b.

Building orders

Remedial/demolition/reinstatement orders may be issued to owners of a property when there are breaches of the Buildings Ordinance and regulations. These orders are encumbrances on the property and their non-compliance may lead to government re-entry. When the Building Authority or other competent authority is satisfied that an order has been complied with, a letter of compliance will be issued.

If an order concerns works relating to common areas or facilities of a building, generally, all the owners of the building will be jointly liable for complying with the order and each owner will be responsible for the costs (apportioned in accordance with the deed of mutual covenant) required to discharge the order. If an order is made against the owner of an individual unit, only the owner of such unit is liable for the cost and expenses for its discharge.

When the property concerned is subject to a building order, an estate agent should advise his clients to seek legal and if necessary other professional advice before entering into a provisional agreement for sale and purchase.

Some examples of the building orders issued under the Buildings Ordinance (Cap. 123) are:

i. s. 24 Building works in contravention of the Buildings Ordinance
ii. s. 24A Dangerous works
iii. s. 25 Change in building use
iv. s. 26 Dangerous buildings
v. s. 26A Defective buildings
vi. s. 27 Closure order
vii. s. 27A Dangerous hillside
viii. s. 28 Drainage
   
c.

Unauthorised/illegal structures

The existence of an unauthorised structure or alteration (that is, building works in contravention of the Buildings Ordinance) in or affecting property may render the title of property defective because the property is liable to re-entry by the government for breach of conditions contained in the relevant government grant. Other enforcement actions include the issue of an order requiring regularisation of such unauthorised works (which may be registered in the Land Registry against the property) and recovery of costs incurred by the Government in regularising such unauthorised works from the owner of the property.

It should be noted that even if the vendor regularises the unauthorised works before completion, the purchaser may still object on the basis of breach of contract if the unauthorised works and consequent regularisation were substantial such that the purchaser may argue that the vendor is unable to deliver what has been agreed to be sold to the purchaser under the agreement for sale and purchase (for example, the demolition of an unauthorised cockloft when the sale and purchase agreement provides for the sale of the cockloft).

As it is difficult to ascertain whether an alteration to property is illegal, it is always advisable for the purchaser, in case of doubt, to seek the advice of an authorised person.

   
d.

Vendor's liability after sale

A vendor who fails to carry out works under a building order would not necessarily be free from liability after sale. In Wah Ying Properties v Sound Cash Ltd [1994] 1 HKC 786, the assignment was registered before the certificate issued under S33(1) of the Buildings Ordinance for the cost of work incurred by the Building Authority for compliance with a certain building order issued before the sale and purchase agreement (the Building Authority had completed the works required under the building order before completion – a fact not disclosed to the purchaser). The purchaser was able to obtain a court order that the vendor was liable for the cost incurred by the Building Authority as the liability for such cost already existed at the time of completion, that is, the property was subject to such an encumbrance in breach of the vendor's covenant to give good title free from encumbrances.

   
e.

Change of user

Section 25 of the Buildings Ordinance requires an owner to seek the Building Authority's permission for any material change of user of a building after the issue of the occupation permit.

The permitted user or restrictions on the user of a property is normally found in the conditions of the government grant and the occupation permit. Sometimes, the deed of mutual covenant may also impose restrictions on the use of property. An unauthorised change in the user of the property in breach of the conditions of the government grant renders the property liable to government re-entry and the title defective.

Sometimes, there may be doubt as to whether a certain user is permitted. For example, in Raider Ltd v Secretary for Justice (FAC V000004/2000), a paging service operation was not considered industrial/factory use as no article was manufactured, altered, cleansed, repaired, ornamented, finished, adapted for sale, broken up, demolished or transformed in the process.

An estate agent should gather sufficient information on the permitted user or any restriction on the user of the property in the event that his client requires the property for any particular purposes. If in doubt as to the permissibility of the property for a particular purpose, the estate agent should advise his client to seek appropriate professional advice.

   
f.

Land (Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance (Cap. 28)

Under this Ordinance, any structure protruding over unleased government land is liable to be demolished.

   
II. Charging orders for payment to government
   
 
a.

General

Certain legislation enables the Government to impose charges on properties to secure the payment of monies due to it and its position is very similar to that of a creditor.

   
b.

Legal Aid Ordinance (Cap. 91)

Section 18A of the Legal Aid Ordinance enables the Director of Legal Aid to impose a first charge on the property which is recovered or preserved through legal aid proceedings. The charge may be registered in the Land Registry and the Director of Legal Aid may enforce the charge in any manner available to a chargee.

   
c.

Buildings Ordinance (Cap. 123)

Section 33(9) of the Buildings Ordinance enables the Building Authority to register a memorial of certificate of cost of work incurred by the Building Authority against the property in respect of which such cost arose which constitutes a first charge on the property for the recovery of the cost of works incurred by the Government due to the owner's failure to carry out such works.

   
d.

Estate Duty Ordinance (Cap. 111)

Section 18(1) of the Estate Duty Ordinance enables the Commissioner of Estate Duty to impose a first charge on the property in respect of which estate duty is leviable for a ratable part of the estate duty on an estate in proportion to the value of the property provided that the property shall not be chargeable as against a bona fide purchaser thereof for valuable consideration without notice. A notice in writing of the charge may be registered in the Land Registry as an instrument affecting land. (Note: In respect of any person dying on or after 11 February 2006, no estate duty is payable.)

   
<<Back
EVENT CALENDAR

Upcoming schedule of CPD and Examinations

Learn More
LICENSEE

Useful quick links for Licensees

Learn More
CONSUMER CORNER

FAQ and useful information for consumers

Learn More
PROSPECTIVE LICENSEE

Useful information before becoming an estate agent

Learn More

en-USzh-HKzh-CN
專題論集:物業產權負擔 目錄
 
  4. 政府權益
     
   
I. 政府重收土地
   
 
a.

概述

業主的一些行為可能招致政府重收土地,導致業主業權被廢除。可招致政府採取嚴重的強制執行行動,包括重收土地的例子如下:

   
 
i.

轉移物業時,沒有遵從政府租契規定向政府申請所需的政府同意書;

   
ii. 沒有繳納政府地租/地稅;
   
iii. 違反政府租契有關條款,例如用途限制、高度限制、維修責任等;
   
iv. 沒有遵照《建築物條例》(香港法例第123章)發出的建築令辦理;
   
v. 非法搭建或改動建築物。
   
  若政府已就物業發出收回土地命令,政府或有關部門會收回有關物業,以下例子即屬此類:
   
 
i. 根據《收回土地條例》(香港法例第124章),進行收地作公共用途,收地通告須刊登憲報並張貼於物業上;
   
ii. 因受渠務工程影響,土地不能提供有效益的用途,根據《土地排水條例》(香港法例第446章)收地;
   
iii. 根據《地下鐵路(收回土地及有關規定)條例》(香港法例第276章),進行收地以應地下鐵路需要,收地通告須刊登憲報並張貼於物業上。
   
  並不是每種違規或不履行某些規定的行為都會導致業權被廢除,須按個別情況而定。問題是,業主到底會不會面對政府採取強制執行行動的風險,最嚴重者當然是政府重收土地的風險。倘有任何懷疑,地產代理應提醒買家,在簽署臨時買賣合約前宜徵詢法律意見。
   
b.

建築令

當物業違反《建築物條例》或規例時,政府會向業主發出補救/拆卸令。此等補救/拆卸/還原令可構成物業的產權負擔,不遵行命令可招致政府重收土地。當建築事務監督或其他部門認為業主已履行有關命令,就會發出合格信。

如涉及大廈的公共地方或設施,整幢大廈業主須共同負起履行有關建築令的責任,及按大廈公契規定分擔有關費用。如建築令只涉及個別單位,該單位業主須獨力負擔所有有關費用。

倘物業受制於建築令,地產代理應提醒客戶在未簽署臨時買賣合約前諮詢專業意見。

根據《建築物條例》(香港法例123章)發出的建築令有以下的例子:

   
 
i. 24條關於違反《建築物條例》的建築工程
   
ii. 24A條關於危險工程
   
iii. 25條關於建築物用途的更改
   
iv. 26條關於危險建築物
   
v. 26A條關於欠妥的建築物
   
vi. 27條關於封閉令
   
vii. 27A條關於危險山坡
   
viii. 28條關於排水
   
c.

未獲認可/非法建築物

違反《建築物條例》的非法建築物或改建可構成業權缺點。物業會因違反政府租契被政府重改。此外有關部門亦可發出建築令要求拆卸違例建築物或還原違例改建。此等建築令可在土地註冊處註冊。若政府已墊支費用完成有關拆卸還原工程,有關費用可向物業業主追討。

若業主在買賣完成前完成清拆/還原非法建築物/改建工程,買方仍有可能因業主未能按買賣合約將協議出售之物業交予買方而拒絕成交-例如:買賣合約內列明物業連閣樓出售,而閣樓實為非法建築物並在買賣完成前被清拆。

要分辨改建是否非法並不容易,如有懷疑,買家宜尋求專業建築師之意見。

   
d.

賣方售後責任

若賣方未有遵照建築令完成所需工程,即使買賣完成後,賣方亦未必可以免卻法律責任。曾有一案例,轉讓契的註冊較建築事務監督註冊之工程費用證書(建築物條例第 33 (1)條)為早。該工程費用證書是有關償還政府為完成一建築令(在買賣合約前已發出)要求的工程而墊支的款項。賣方沒有向買方披露政府在買賣完成前已完成該建築令要求之工程。買家最終成功取得法院命令,由賣方負責該墊支款項。因為在交易時,償還該墊支款項的法律責任其實已經存在,也是說業主在交易時未能交付無產權負擔的妥善業權予買方。(Wah Ying Properties v. Sound Cash Ltd.[1994]1HKC786)

   
e.

用途改變

《建築物條例》第25條規定,在佔用許可證(俗稱入伙紙)發出後,若要改變物業的主要用途,業主須向建築事務監督申請許可。

有關認許用途或限制用途的條文一般會在政府租契、佔用許可證(俗稱入伙紙)中出現。有些時候,大廈公契亦有限制物業用途。違反政府租契限制更改物業用途會產生業權問題,並可導致政府重收土地。

有些用途的性質不容易界定是否許可用途。在一案例中,傳呼服務營運被裁定不是工業/廠房用途,因為營運過程中不涉及製造、轉化、清洗、維修、裝飾、加工、分拆、拆卸或轉換等製作程序。(Raider Ltd. v. Secretary for Justice(FACV000004/2000))

當客戶需要物業作為某特定用途時,地產代理應收集足夠有關物業用途的資料供客戶參考。若不能確定物業是否適合該等用途時,應建議客戶諮詢適當的專業意見。

   
f.

《土地(雜項條文)條例》(香港法例第28章)

根據此條例,未經許可將建築物伸延至政府土地的上空,乃屬違法,有關當局可要求拆卸。

   
II. 保證付款給予政府的押記令
   
 
a.

概述

為保證可收回欠繳款項,某些法例容許政府在物業上施加押記令,其情況和一般債權人的非常相似。

   
b.

《法律援助條例》(香港法例第91章)

《法律援助條例》第18A條賦予法律援助署署長權力,在物業上施加第一押記,押記會施加於經法律援助司法程序收回或保留的物業。押記可於土地註冊處註冊。法律援助署署長可如承押人般行使押記令。

   
c.

《建築物條例》(香港法例第123章)

《建築物條例》第33(9)條賦予建築事務監督權力,在業主沒有履行維修或其他工程責任時可將一份工程費用證明書摘要註冊,作為物業的第一押記,追討政府墊支完成有關工程的費用。

   
d.

《遺產稅條例》(香港法例第111章)

《遺產稅條例》第18(1)條賦予遺產稅署署長權力,在物業上施加第一押記,以收回該物業應課的遺產稅。押記通知書可於土地註冊處註冊。但若該物業已由不知情並付出有值代價的真正買家購入,則不得對物業施加上述押記。(注意:任何人士若於二零零六年二月十一日或之後去世,不需要付遺產稅。)


   
<<上一頁
活動月曆

將會舉行的持續專業進修計劃和資格考試

更多
持牌人

持牌人常用快速連結

更多
消費者專區

給消費者的有用資料及常見問題

更多
準備考牌

成為持牌人前的有用資料

更多