en-USzh-HKzh-CN
(2) Creation of a Tenancy
 

The creation of a domestic tenancy may be oral or by way of a tenancy agreement or a lease. Differences between a tenancy agreement and a lease include duration and formality in execution. When the duration of the tenancy is not more than three years, a tenancy agreement is usually arranged. This will be in writing and involves a simpler method of execution. The tenancy agreement may or may not be registered. If the duration exceeds three years, a lease is required in accordance with Section 4(1) of the Conveyancing and Property Ordinance (Cap. 219). This has to be created by deed and must follow the formal procedure for a deed's execution. According to Section 3 of the Land Registration Ordinance (Cap. 128), a lease has to be registered at the Land Registry.

  1. Tenancy agreement
     
    A tenancy not exceeding three years may be created by way of a tenancy agreement between the landlord and the tenant. If a party to the tenancy agreement is a limited company incorporated under the Companies Ordinance (Cap. 32), an authorised person may sign on behalf of the company. Generally, a director of the company has the power to enter into an agreement which binds the company, including a tenancy agreement.
     
  2. Lease
     
    Like all other kinds of agreement made by deed, the execution of a lease comprises signature, sealing and delivery by the parties thereto:
     
   
a.

Signature

If a party to a lease is an individual, the lease can be signed either by the individual personally or by his authorised agent. If a party is a limited company, the manner of signing a lease will be governed by its articles of association because the company's common seal will have to be used. The articles of association usually include one article on the use of the company's common seal, specifying who has authority to sign for and on behalf of the company an instrument to which the common seal is affixed. It is therefore necessary to look at this article in order to ascertain who has the authority to sign a lease on behalf of the company. The articles of some companies may specify the mode of execution, for example, by the chairman of the board of directors or by two directors. Other companies' articles provide more flexibility, for example, such person or persons as shall be authorised by the board of directors.

There is a presumption under Section 20(1) of the Conveyancing and Property Ordinance (Cap. 219) that a deed is presumed to have been duly executed by a company if the deed bears the seal of the company and is signed by any one of the following three groups:

   
 
(i) Two directors; or
   
(ii) One director and one secretary; or
   
(iii) One director and one permanent officer.
 
b.

Sealing

If a party to a lease is an individual, sealing is deemed to have been carried out on a document if the document (i) describes itself as a deed; or (ii) states that it has been sealed; or (iii) bears any mark intended to be or to represent a seal or the position of a seal. If a party is a limited company, the common seal of the company must be impressed adjacent to the signatures of the person(s) signing the lease for and on behalf of the company.

   
c.

Delivery

A deed is "delivered" when the person granting the deed does or says something to indicate that he intends the deed which he has executed to be binding on him.

     
  3. Stamping
     
    According to the Stamp Duty Ordinance (Cap. 117), stamp duty is payable on a tenancy agreement or lease. A tenancy agreement or lease which is not duly stamped cannot be registered at the Land Registry. Nor will it be admitted as evidence in court (including the Lands Tribunal) for it to be enforceable against the parties thereto.

The amount of stamp duty payable depends on the current rates of stamp duty, the term of the lease and the rent payable by the tenant under the lease.

     
   
  Term Stamp duty
(a)
Not exceeding one year
0.25% x monthly rental x number of months
(b)
Exceeding one year but not exceeding three years
0.5% x average yearly rent
(c)
Exceeding three years
1% x average yearly rent
     
    Example
A tenancy agreement covers a term of three years. If the monthly rental for the first year is $10,000, the monthly rental for the second year is $12,000 and the monthly rental for the third year is $14,000, the average yearly rent is calculated as follows:
     
   
($10,000 x 12) + ($12,000 x 12) + ($14,000 x 12)
 

= $144,000
3
 
     
    Since the tenancy is for a term not exceeding three years, the amount of stamp duty payable will be calculated by multiplying the average yearly rent by 0.5%. Since a tenancy agreement is usually signed in duplicate, when the stamp duty on a tenancy agreement has been paid, the stamp duty payable on its counterpart will be $5. The total amount of stamp duty payable is as follows:
     
   
$144,000 x 0.5% + $5 = $725
  ===
     
    Generally speaking, the total stamp duty payable is borne by the landlord and the tenant in equal shares. In relation to the above example, each party should pay $362.50.

Further, if a tenancy agreement stipulates that a tenant is entitled to a rent-free period (a period usually granted for the tenant to decorate the property), the amount of average yearly rent will be reduced according to the amount of rent not receivable for the rent-free period, and the amount of stamp duty payable will be reduced accordingly.

     
  4. Registration
     
    Pursuant to Section 3 of the Land Registration Ordinance (Cap. 128), all leases have to be registered at the Land Registry. In practice, the solicitors who prepare the lease will submit the lease to the Land Registry for registration within one month of its execution by the landlord and tenant, in order to ensure that the priority of the lease shall commence from the date of its execution. If a lease is submitted for registration more than one month after its execution, its priority will only commence from the date of registration and not the date of its execution. A tenancy agreement is also registrable at the Land Registry. This is often done if the tenancy agreement contains a clause giving the tenant the option to renew upon its expiry.
     
  5. Form CR 109
     
    If the property under the tenancy agreement or lease is a domestic property, meaning that the property is primarily used by the tenant as his dwelling, the landlord must file Form CR 109 at the Rating and Valuation Department. Form CR 109 has to be completed by the landlord or his representative and contains information such as the names of the parties to the tenancy agreement or lease, tenancy term, monthly rental, the party who will bear and pay the rates and the management fees. Form CR 109 has to be submitted to the Rating and Valuation Department in triplicate. Once endorsed by the Commissioner of Rating and Valuation, one copy will be returned to the landlord and another copy will be returned to the tenant.

Form CR 109 has to be filed at the Rating and Valuation Department within one month of the execution of the tenancy agreement or lease. If Form CR 109 is filed after one month of the execution of the tenancy agreement or lease, a penalty of $310 will have to be paid. Further, failure to file Form CR 109 will render the landlord unable to take legal action for recovery of the rent. It is therefore of vital importance from the landlord's perspective that Form CR 109 should be filed at the Rating and Valuation Department.

     
  6. Bank consent
     
    Where a property is mortgaged to a bank or other financial institution, the relevant mortgage deed or legal charge will usually contain a covenant by the owner of the property not to let the property or any part thereof. Hence, if an owner lets a mortgaged property without the mortgagee's prior consent, the owner will be in breach of the mortgage deed or legal charge and the mortgagee may recover the property from the owner.

Where bank consent has been obtained, a tenant should inspect the same to see whether it is subject to any conditions.

If the landlord does not agree to seek the bank's consent, the tenant should understand the potential risks that he/she may face. If the property is let without consent, the mortgagee may take legal action against the landlord to enforce the relevant provision in the mortgage deed or legal charge to recover the property. Further, if the mortgagee exercises its right of sale under the mortgage deed or legal charge upon failure of the owner to repay any instalment of the mortgage loan, it may apply to the court for the eviction of the tenant and the tenant will have to yield up vacant possession to the mortgagee within a fairly short period of time if the mortgagee has not consented to the letting.

EVENT CALENDAR

Upcoming schedule of CPD and Examinations

Learn More
LICENSEE

Useful quick links for Licensees

Learn More
CONSUMER CORNER

FAQ and useful information for consumers

Learn More
PROSPECTIVE LICENSEE

Useful information before becoming an estate agent

Learn More

en-USzh-HKzh-CN
(2)租賃的制訂
 
  住宅物業的租賃,可以口頭或書面租約或租契的形式訂立。租約及租契的分別在於租賃期的長短及訂立形式。不超過三年的租賃,一般都以租約形式訂立,特點是只須書面訂立,簽署手續比較簡便,而且不一定須註冊。超過三年的租賃,必須根據《物業轉易及財產條例》(第219章)第4(1)條,以契據(Deed)形式訂立,簽訂手續要符合契據的程序。根據《土地註冊條例》(第 128章)第3條,所有租契也須於土地註冊處註冊。
 


1. 租約
     
    不超過三年的租賃關係,可以書面訂立租約,由業主與租客簽署作實。如果立約一方是根據《公司條例》(第32章)成立的有限公司,可由獲授權人士代表公司簽約。一般來說,公司董事有權簽署對公司有約束力的書面協議,其中包括租約。
     
  2. 租契
     
    和所有以契據形式訂立的協議一樣,租契的簽立方式有三部分:簽署(sign)、蓋章(seal)及交付(deliver)。
     
   
a.

簽署

若立租契一方是個人,租契可由他本人或其獲授權代理人簽署。若立租契一方是有限公司,由於簽署需要同時使用公司印章(也稱鋼印),簽署租契的方式便會受到其公司組織章程細則所監管。公司組織章程細則通常包括一條細則,列明誰有權代表公司簽署文件並蓋上公司印章,所以需要查看公司組織章程細則,以確定誰有權代表公司簽署租契。某些公司的組織章程細則會要求指定之簽立方式,例如須由公司董事會主席或兩位董事簽署。某些公司組織章程細則的要求較有靈活性,例如可由公司董事會授權一位或多位人士簽署。

有關由公司簽立的契據,《物業轉易及財產條例》(第219章)第20(1)條規定,若契據已蓋上公司印章並由下列其中一組人士簽署,則當作已妥為簽立:

   
 
i. 兩位董事;或
   
ii. 一位董事和公司秘書;或
   
iii. 一位董事和一位常任人員。
   
b.

蓋章

若租契一方是個人,只要文件說明本身是一份契據,或該文件說明已經蓋章,或該文件載有擬作為或用作表示印章或印章位置的任何標記,該文件便已經當作經已蓋章。若租契一方是有限公司,公司的鋼印須蓋在代表公司簽署的人士之簽名旁邊。

   
c.

交付

若契據一方透過言語或行為確認其接受契據約束,則契據便被視為已「交付」。

     
  3.
印花稅
   
根據《印花稅條例》(第117章),書面租約或租契須繳付印花稅。沒有繳付印花稅的租約或租契不能在土地註冊處註冊,亦不能被法庭(包括土地審裁處)接納為證據,因而失去強制執行的效力。

印花稅的金額視乎現行的印花稅率、租期長短及租金而定。

   
 
  租期 印花稅
(a) 不超過一年 0.25%x每月租金x月數
(b) 超過一年,但不超過三年 0.5%x平均每年租金
(c) 超過三年 1%x平均每年租金
   
 
   
  租約的租期是三年;首年每月租金$10,000,次年每月租金$12,000,而第三年每月租金$14,000,則平均每年租金計算如下:
   
 
($10,000x12)+($12,000x12)+($14,000x12)
= $144,000

3
  ========
   
  由於租約的租期不超過三年,應繳付的印花稅便是平均每年租金的 0.5%。由於租約是一式兩份的,當其中一份已繳付印花稅,另一份則只須繳付 $5。印花稅總額的計算如下:
   
 
   
$144,000x0.5%+$5 =

$725
====

     
    一般而言,印花稅總額會由業主和租客平均分擔。就上述例子而言,每一方應付 $362.50。
   
   
此外,若租約訂明租客可享有免租期(通常供租客裝修的時期),平均每年租金便會相應減少,須繳付的印花稅亦相應減少。
 
  4. 註冊
     
    根據《土地註冊條例》(第128章)第3條,所有租契須於土地註冊處註冊。實際上,準備租契的律師在業主和租客簽立租契後一個月內將租契呈交土地註冊處註冊,仍可確保租契的優先權由簽立租契當日開始生效。如租契在簽立後超過一個月才註冊,其優先權只可由註冊當日開始生效,並不能由簽立租契當日開始生效。租約也可在土地註冊處註冊。如果租約內載有續租條款,賦予租客於租期屆滿前續期的權利,往往會在土地註冊處註冊。
     
  5. 表格CR109
     
    如租約或租契所涉及的物業是住宅物業,即物業被租客主要用作居住用途,則業主須向差餉物業估價署送交表格CR109。表格CR109可由業主或其代表填寫,並載有簽立租約或租契雙方的姓名、租期、每月租金、哪一方負責支付差餉及管理費等資料。表格CR109須一式三份送交差餉物業估價署。經差餉物業估價署署長確認後,其中一份會交回業主,而另一份會送交租客。

表格CR109須於簽立租約或租契後一個月內送交差餉物業估價署。若表格CR109於簽立租約或租契後超過一個月才送交差餉物業估價署,業主須繳付$310罰款。再者,業主若未有送交表格CR109,便無法在法庭或土地審裁處向租客追討租約或租契內租客同意支付的租金。因此,向差餉物業估價署送交表格CR109對業主而言是非常重要的。

 
  6. 銀行同意書
     
    若物業已抵押給銀行或其他財務機構,有關的按揭契或法定押記通常會載有業主不會將物業或其任何部分出租的承諾。因此,若業主在未得到承按人同意前將物業出租,業主便會違反按揭契或法定押記內有關條文,承按人有權收回物業。

在業主取得銀行的書面同意後,租客宜細心檢視同意書,留意該同意書是否附帶任何條件。

如業主不同意取得銀行同意書,租客應明白自己要承擔的風險。若承按人未有同意出租,則承按人有權向業主採取法律行動,強制業主履行按揭契或法定押記內禁止出租的條款收回物業。此外,若承按人基於業主未能支付每月按揭供款,而行使其在按揭契或法定押記內出售物業的權利時,承按人可向法庭申請命令租客遷出物業。租客須於短時間內將物業交吉予承按人。

活動月曆

將會舉行的持續專業進修計劃和資格考試

更多
持牌人

持牌人常用快速連結

更多
消費者專區

給消費者的有用資料及常見問題

更多
準備考牌

成為持牌人前的有用資料

更多