en-USzh-HKzh-CN
CIRCULARS

Circular No. 03-01 (CR) January 2003
Equal Opportunities

A person discriminates against another individual if he, on the ground of the other's sex, marital status, pregnancy, disability or taking care of family members, treats the other less favourably than he treats or would treat any other person and may contravene the law. In providing services to clients, practitioners should be aware of the laws relating to equal opportunities: Sex Discrimination Ordinance (Cap. 480); Disability Discrimination Ordinance (Cap. 487); and Family Status Discrimination Ordinance (Cap. 527).

In Hong Kong, it is sometimes heard that foreigners, especially those of South Asian descent, encounter difficulties in finding accommodation. The grounds of discrimination extend to one's enjoyment of accommodation. Discrimination in this regard occurs if someone receives less favourable treatment in finding or enjoying accommodation than that which another person in the same position would have received on the ground of nationality, race or skin colour. Discriminatory acts also include verbal insults (using pejorative racial descriptions) and refusal to provide services.

In handling property transactions, estate agents should avoid committing any discriminatory act or conducting themselves in ways that prejudice others' right to accommodation. Enquiries may be made by calling the Hotline of the Equal Opportunities Commission (2511 8211) or, where racial issues are concerned, the Race Relations Unit under the Home Affairs Bureau (Tel. No.: 2835 1579).

EVENT CALENDAR

Upcoming schedule of CPD and Examinations

Learn More
LICENSEE

Useful quick links for Licensees

Learn More
CONSUMER CORNER

FAQ and useful information for consumers

Learn More
PROSPECTIVE LICENSEE

Useful information before becoming an estate agent

Learn More

en-USzh-HKzh-CN
通告

通 告 編 號 03-01( CR)


平等機會

任何人士如基於他人的性別、 婚姻狀況、 懷孕、 殘疾或須照顧直系家庭成員的原因而給予其較差待遇, 便構成歧視行為, 可能觸犯法例。從業員在提供服務時, 應留意有關平等機會的法例- 《 性別歧視條例》( 第480 章) ;《 殘疾歧視條例》( 第487 章) ; 及《 家庭崗位歧視條例》( 第527 章) 。

在香港, 外籍人士特別是南亞裔租客, 在尋找居所時遇上困難時有所聞。任何國籍或族裔人士均享有獲得棲身之所的平等機會, 倘若基於某人的國籍、 種族或膚色而在其獲得居所方面予以較他人差的待遇, 也屬歧視行為。常見的歧視行為包括言語侮辱( 使用帶侮蔑的種族稱謂)及拒絕提供服務等。

地產代理在處理物業交易時, 切勿作出任何歧視或可能妨礙他人公平享受租住權利的行為, 也應適當地提醒業主避免涉及歧視行為。查詢可致電平等機會委員會的熱(2511 8211 );有關種族問題的, 亦可向民政事務局轄下的種族關係組( 電話:2835 1579 ) 查詢。

2003 年 1 月
活動月曆

將會舉行的持續專業進修計劃和資格考試

更多
持牌人

持牌人常用快速連結

更多
消費者專區

給消費者的有用資料及常見問題

更多
準備考牌

成為持牌人前的有用資料

更多