en-USzh-HKzh-CN
CIRCULARS

Circular No. 03-10 (CR) October 2003
Unethical/unlawful Transfer of Clientele

According to information provided to the Authority, there have been suspected incidents involving salespersons employed by one agency arranging for the transactions of its clients to be taken over by another agency without the consent or knowledge of the employer, who thus suffer a loss of commission. On the other hand, some agencies offer higher commission rates or other benefits to induce the agents of other agencies to refer business to them in this way. Such arrangements may have serious consequences.

As employees, in addition to the duties under the employment contract, salespersons owe a duty of loyalty and fidelity to their employers under common law. Civil liabilities may arise from the breach of these duties. To transfer a client's transaction to another firm may also prejudice the client's interests.

Para. 3.7.1 of the Code of Ethics provides that estate agents and salespersons shall not seek unfair advantage over other agencies. Failure to adhere to the same may subject an agent to disciplinary sanctions.

As agents of their employers, salespersons are also subject to section 9 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (Cap. 201), which provides that any agent who, without lawful authority or reasonable excuse, solicits or accepts any advantage as an inducement to or reward for his doing any act in relation to his principal's business shall be guilty of an offence and punishable by a fine and/or imprisonment. Persons offering such advantage to the salespersons may commit the same offence.

Estate agency companies and practitioners should refrain from the above-mentioned unethical or unlawful practice. The Authority will initiate disciplinary proceedings against any suspected cases which come to its knowledge, or refer the same to the relevant authorities.

EVENT CALENDAR

Upcoming schedule of CPD and Examinations

Learn More
LICENSEE

Useful quick links for Licensees

Learn More
CONSUMER CORNER

FAQ and useful information for consumers

Learn More
PROSPECTIVE LICENSEE

Useful information before becoming an estate agent

Learn More

en-USzh-HKzh-CN
通告

 

通 告 編 號 03-10( CR)


「偷盤」 行為

根據監管局了解, 懷疑有營業員在未得僱主同意或知悉的情況下, 把原屬公司的客戶安排透過其他代理公司跟進交易, 令所屬公司損失收入; 也有公司藉較高分賬方式或以其他利益, 鼓勵別家公司的營業員私下轉介客戶或樓盤。此類俗稱「偷客」 或「偷盤」 的手法, 可能引起嚴重問題和後果。

營業員受聘地產代理公司, 除受僱傭合約條款規限外, 在普通法下, 也對僱主有忠誠責任, 違反的後果可能須負上民事責任。隨便安排其他公司跟進客戶的交易, 也可能妄顧客戶利益而削弱消費者應得的保障。

監管局製訂的《 操守守則》 第3.7.1 段, 規定地產代理及營業員不得求取不公平的利益令其他代理受損。違反守則的後果可能影響持牌資格。

營業員身為僱主的代理人, 如無合法權限或合理辯解而索取或接受任何利益而作出任何影響其僱主業務的行為, 可能觸犯《 防止賄賂條例》( 第201 章) 第9 條, 後果是罰款及/或監禁。向營業員提供利益者, 亦可能觸犯同樣罪行。

地產代理公司及從業員應避免以上述手法求取不公平利益甚至乾犯法紀。監管局會就所發現任何懷疑個案召開紀律研訊, 或將個案轉介有關執法機關處理。

2003 年 10 月
活動月曆

將會舉行的持續專業進修計劃和資格考試

更多
持牌人

持牌人常用快速連結

更多
消費者專區

給消費者的有用資料及常見問題

更多
準備考牌

成為持牌人前的有用資料

更多