en-USzh-HKzh-CN
CIRCULARS

Circular No. 02-10 (CR) October 2002
Trust Accounts

Practitioners may sometimes come into contact with cash or cheques drawn in favour of their company which they receive or hold on behalf of their clients, e.g., funds from a prospective purchaser/tenant for transfer to the owner of a property as initial deposit once an agreement is reached. At common law, a trust relationship arises when the owner of the funds entrusts his funds to a trustee for managing the same. The estate agent, as trustee, owes fiduciary duties to the owner of the funds, i.e., the client on whose behalf he is holding the funds. Under section 12(3) of the Practice Regulation, a licensed estate agent shall deposit all moneys received or held for or on account of a client in a trust account maintained at an authorized institution (a bank, restricted licensed bank or deposit-taking company as defined in the Banking Ordinance). This is to prevent an estate agent from mixing its client's moneys with its own moneys.

Under section 12(4) of the Practice Regulation, a licensed estate agent shall retain a copy of the deposit slip of any money deposited into its trust account for 3 years. Under section 12(5), he shall not withdraw money from the trust account except in accordance with his client's instructions and by a cheque or by electronic fund transfer.

Those in charge of management of estate agency companies (including branch managers) should establish a system for complying with the above regulations and give clear instructions to their staff so that moneys received on weekends or public holidays which cannot be deposited into the company's trust account may be handled properly.

Estate agents are liable to repay to their clients moneys received or held on behalf of their clients and must not use the moneys from a trust account to pay for the company's expenses or for other purposes. He must not deduct or withhold part or all of such moneys to set off any commission.

EVENT CALENDAR

Upcoming schedule of CPD and Examinations

Learn More
LICENSEE

Useful quick links for Licensees

Learn More
CONSUMER CORNER

FAQ and useful information for consumers

Learn More
PROSPECTIVE LICENSEE

Useful information before becoming an estate agent

Learn More

en-USzh-HKzh-CN
通告
通 告 編 號 02-10( CR)


信託戶口

在業務過程中, 地產代理及營業員有機會接觸到客戶交來暫管的現金, 或以代理行為收款人的支票, 例如代轉業主的訂金或誠意金等。根據普通法, 當擁有人將金錢或財物交付受託人代為管理, 兩者即建立了信託關係, 受託人對託付人有誠信責任。而按《 常規規例》 第12(3)條的規定, 持牌地產代理須將代客戶收取或持有的所有款項, 存入一家認可財務機構( 指《 銀行業條例》 下的銀行、 有限制牌照銀行、 或接受存款公司) 開立的信託戶口內。此規定乃為避免地產代理將代客戶暫管款項與公司營運款項混淆。

代理將款項存入信託戶口後, 須按《 常規規例》 第12( 4) 條的規定, 將存款收據保存3年。另根據《 常規規例》 第12( 5) 條, 有關款項衹可在客戶指示下提取, 並衹能以支票或電子轉賬方式提取。

公司管理層(包括分行經理)應就有關規定制定措施, 並給予下屬員工清晰指示, 以令在周末或假期間代客戶收取而未能存入信託戶口的款項得到妥善的處置。

地產代理必須於適當時候將所有代收取或持有的款項交還客戶。代理切不可​​挪用客戶信託戶口內的款項作為公司開支或其他用途, 也不可扣押作抵銷佣金之用。

2002 年 10 月
活動月曆

將會舉行的持續專業進修計劃和資格考試

更多
持牌人

持牌人常用快速連結

更多
消費者專區

給消費者的有用資料及常見問題

更多
準備考牌

成為持牌人前的有用資料

更多