en-USzh-HKzh-CN
CIRCULARS

 
Circular No. 05-07 (CR)
Stakeholding of Deposits

It is current conveyancing practice that upon the signing of a Provisional Agreement for Sale and Purchase (PASP), an initial deposit is invariably payable. Such initial deposit ranges from 3% to 5% of the purchase price and is usually paid directly to the vendor.

From time to time the Authority receives complaints that estate agency practitioners have not properly brought to the attention of the purchasers the risk of paying deposits directly to vendors. In some cases, purchasers have alleged that the deposit stakeholding provisions pre-printed on the PASP were deleted by the licensees without informing them of the potential consequences of the deletion. Also, some vendors have alleged that the deposits were stakeheld without their awareness of the implications of the stakeholding provision.

Given that some vendors may for various reasons fail to discharge the mortgage or abscond after receiving the deposit, it is important for the licensee, whether acting as a dual agent for the parties or as a single agent for the purchaser, to advise the purchaser of any possible risks in payment of deposits directly to the vendor and of the desirability of arranging for the stakeholding of all deposits (both the initial and further deposits) by a firm of solicitors, before arranging for the parties to sign the PASP of properties where there is an undischarged mortgage. The licensee should also explain to the vendor and the purchaser the implications of the stakeholding arrangement and the conditions to be fulfilled before the release of the deposits by stakeholders. As it is often difficult to ascertain whether the property is in negative equity and/or whether the vendor is able to discharge the mortgage, the licensee's above duty should apply to all cases of sale and purchase whenever there is an undischarged mortgage.

According to section 13(1) (a) of the Estate Agents Practice (General Duties and Hong Kong Residential Properties) Regulation, a licensee shall, before a client of the licensee who is not legally represented enters into an agreement for sale and purchase of a residential property, explain to the client the meaning of each clause of the agreement and draw to his attention the meaning of any essential terms and provisions thereof. A deposit stakeholding provision contained in a pre-printed PASP is an essential term. Thus, if a licensee fails to explain to the client who is not legally represented, before entering into a PASP of property where there is an undischarged mortgage, the meaning of any deposit stakeholding provision and/or the implications and risks of deleting the deposit stakeholding provision contained in a pre-printed PASP, the licensee may be in breach of the said regulation.

In the sale and purchase of property where there is an undischarged mortgage, practitioners are advised to obtain a written acknowledgementfrom the parties acknowledging that they have been advised of the deposit stakeholding arrangement and the risks involved in not including such arrangement in the PASP. Such written acknowledgement will assist the practitioner in proving that he has complied with the above guidelines and regulation.

Failure of practitioners to comply with the above guidelines and regulation may give rise to possible disciplinary actions by the Authority.

This circular is in addition and without prejudice to Circulars No.99-01(CR) and 01-10(CR).

December 2005



EVENT CALENDAR

Upcoming schedule of CPD and Examinations

Learn More
LICENSEE

Useful quick links for Licensees

Learn More
CONSUMER CORNER

FAQ and useful information for consumers

Learn More
PROSPECTIVE LICENSEE

Useful information before becoming an estate agent

Learn More

en-USzh-HKzh-CN
通告

通 告 编 号 05-07( CR)

订金托管

按照现行物业转易的惯例,订立临时买卖合约(「临约」) 后,买家一律须支付一笔首期订金。该笔首期订金介乎购买价的3% 至5%,并一般直接支付予业主。

监管局曾经接获投诉,地产代理从业员可能没有恰当地知会买家有关直接向业主支付订金的风险。在部份个案中,买家声称,持牌人在未经知会买家有关删除预印在临约的订金托管条文之后果下,擅自删除有关条文。另一方面,部份业主声称,在未获悉托管条文之含意下,订金已受托管。

鉴于有些业主可能因各种理由未能解除按揭或于获取订金后潜逃,持牌人(不论身为立约双方的双方代理或买家的单方代理) 务须紧记,在安排各立约方订立买卖附有未解除按揭的物业的临约前,他须向买家提出有关直接向业主支付订金的风险,以及向买家提出将所有订金(包括首期及后续订金)托管在律师行内。此外,持牌人亦应向买卖双方解释订金托管安排的含意及订金托管人发放订金前须符合的条件。一般而言,由于确定物业是否为负资产物业或业主能否解除按揭并不容易,故上述持牌人的责任应适用于 所有 附有 未解除按揭的物业买卖

根据《地产代理常规(一般责任及香港住宅物业) 规例》第13(1)(a) 条,持牌人在其任何并非由律师代表的客户订立任何住宅物业的买卖协议之前,须向该客户解释该协议的每项条文的涵义,并促使该客户注意该协议的重要条款及条文的涵义。在预印的临约内载有订金托管条文为一项重要条款。因此,倘持牌人就未解除按揭的物业订立买卖协议前,未能向并非由律师代表的客户解释临约的任何订金托管条文及/ 或删除载于预印的临约的订金托管条文的含意及风险,该持牌人可能触犯上述规例。

从业员在处理有关未解除按揭的买卖物业时,监管局建议从业员应取得立约各方的 确认书,确认立约各方已获悉有关的订金托管安排及在临约中未有纳入订金托管安排所涉及的风险。该确认书可帮助从业员证明他已遵守上述指引及规例。

倘从业员未能遵守上述指引及规例,监管局可能对其采取纪律行动。

本通告对通告编号99-01(CR) 及01-10(CR) 予以增补;该两份通告之内容仍然有效。

2005 年 12 月

活动月历

将会举行的持续专业进修计划和资格考试

更多
持牌人

持牌人常用快速连结

更多
消费者专区

给消费者的有用资料及常见问题

更多
准备考牌

成为持牌人前的有用资料

更多