en-USzh-HKzh-CN
CIRCULARS

Circular No. 03-02 (CR) January 2003
Provisional Agreement

Very often, when the parties to a property transaction have reached an agreement on the basic terms, practitioners would assist the parties to enter into a provisional agreement for sale and purchase. A provisional agreement for sale and purchase is a binding document and, if not handled properly, would give rise to dispute and complaint and may even affect the transaction. Practitioners' attention is drawn to the following areas which often feature in complaints:

(1) Signing uncompleted agreement 
Practitioners should refrain from asking their clients to unilaterally sign any provisional agreement with many spaces left blank where the essential terms of the transaction (e.g., price, deposits, completion date, other conditions) have not been agreed on.

(2) Property address 
The property should be accurately described in the agreement, inclusive of any car parking space, garden or roof, if any. It is advisable to enter the exact wording of the property description in the relevant land search record as the property identifier in the agreement.

(3) Parties 
The identity of the parties (or authorized signatories) should be verified. Practitioners should be aware that an agreement may be void due to a signatory being a minor (under 18) or having lost the capacity to manage his affairs because of infirmity. In addition, practitioners should pay special attention in serving old people or those without formal income proof as such individuals may encounter difficulties when applying for mortgage loans. Such clients should be advised to ascertain their position as to the obtaining of the necessary finance before entering into any agreement.

(4) Registration of agreement 
If for any reason the parties subsequently fail to enter into a formal agreement, the provisional agreement would become the only agreement between the parties and as such is registrable at the Land Registry. The Land Registry only accepts documents of A4 size for registration. It is appropriate that provisional agreement should be printed in A4 format.

(5) Standard agreement of owners 
Some owners have standard agreement (such as in sale by auction/mortgagee/developer). In addition to fully explaining such standard agreement to the purchaser/tenant, practitioners should check their pro-forma provisional agreement against the standard agreement for conflict or discrepancy in order to protect the interest of the purchaser/tenant.

EVENT CALENDAR

Upcoming schedule of CPD and Examinations

Learn More
LICENSEE

Useful quick links for Licensees

Learn More
CONSUMER CORNER

FAQ and useful information for consumers

Learn More
PROSPECTIVE LICENSEE

Useful information before becoming an estate agent

Learn More

en-USzh-HKzh-CN
通告

通 告 編 號 03-02( CR)


臨時買賣合約

一般情況下, 當交易雙方就物業洽妥條件, 從業員會協助客戶訂立臨時買賣合約。臨時買賣合約也是具法律約束力的文件, 如處理不當, 容易引起爭拗甚至投訴, 最終影響交易。以下事項每多出現在投訴中, 從業員宜多加留意。

(一) 簽署未填妥臨約
從業員宜避免在重要交易條款( 樓價、 訂金、 成交日、 其他附帶條件) 尚末談妥時令客戶在漏空的臨約上單方面簽署。

(二) 物業的地址
要正確填寫物業的地址, 包括一起出售的車位、 花園、 天台( 如有的話) 等。最佳方法是按照有關物業的土地查冊上的物業地址填寫。

(三) 立約人
除了立約人( 或其授權人) 的身分須確定外, 從業員也應注意合約可因簽署人未成年( 未滿18 歲者) 或因疾病而喪失處理事務能力而無效。此外, 年紀大或沒有入息證明的人在申請按揭貸款時可能遇上困難, 應建議他們事前就財務安排作充分諮詢才決定簽約。

(四) 登記臨約
假如交易雙方因某些原因而未能簽訂正式買賣協議, 則臨時買賣合約便成為雙方唯一的協議而需要在土地註冊處登記。土地註冊處只接受A4 紙張大小的文件登記。在此情況下, 臨時買賣合約宜以A4 呎吋印備。

(五) 業主標準合約
如業主設有標準合約( 如某些拍賣/ 銀主出讓/ 發展商首次發售的物業) , 除應事先向買家/ 租客解釋清楚外, 代理如使用本身的臨時合約, 更應仔細對比該標準合約與本身的臨時合約, 以免兩者條款有衝突或分歧, 以保障買家/ 租客的利益。

2003 年 1 月
活動月曆

將會舉行的持續專業進修計劃和資格考試

更多
持牌人

持牌人常用快速連結

更多
消費者專區

給消費者的有用資料及常見問題

更多
準備考牌

成為持牌人前的有用資料

更多