en-USzh-HKzh-CN
CIRCULARS

Circular No. 99-01 (CR) 30 March 1999
Negative Equity

As the property market has experienced a downturn, many properties purchased during the peak have become properties with "negative equity". The Authority has received many complaints relating to properties with negative equity. The vendor would disappear after receiving the deposit. The mortgagee bank took possession of the flat. The purchaser lost both deposit and the flat. The agent received no commission. Practitioners acting in respect of properties with potentially negative equity are advised therefore to pay attention to the following:

  1. If a land search reveals that the last transaction price of the relevant property is higher than the asking price of the existing owner and the same is mortgaged, an agent should advise the purchaser that the relevant property may be a property with negative equity and that he should ascertain the adequacy of sale price to repay the existing mortgage or mortgages and also the vendor's repayment ability.
  2. In case of doubt, practitioners should advise the purchaser to declare, when signing the provisional agreement for sale and purchase, that the agreement is subject to the vendor discharging all mortgages/charges over the property on or before Completion and request the acting solicitors to take appropriate steps to protect the purchaser's interest when preparing the formal agreement for sale and purchase.
  3. Agents acting for the vendor should also advise the vendor to provide the relevant bank repayment statement in order to facilitate the transaction.
This Circular should be made available for the
information of all staff engaged in estate agency work.
EVENT CALENDAR

Upcoming schedule of CPD and Examinations

Learn More
LICENSEE

Useful quick links for Licensees

Learn More
CONSUMER CORNER

FAQ and useful information for consumers

Learn More
PROSPECTIVE LICENSEE

Useful information before becoming an estate agent

Learn More

en-USzh-HKzh-CN
通告

通 告 編 號 99-01 (CR)

有 關 負 資 產 物 業

由於年來物業市道滑落, 不少在樓市高峰期購入的物業均成為「 負資產」 。監管局收到的投訴個案中, 有不少也涉及負資產物業, 業主在收到訂金之後失蹤, 未能完成交易, 銀行接收物業, 買家既損失了訂金也收不到樓, 代理也收不到佣金。地產代理從業員在處理有可能成為負資產的物業時應注意下列各項: -

  1. 倘若在查冊記錄中留意到有關物業上一次成交的成交價高於業主叫價, 並有按給銀行的話, 便應提醒買家有關物業可能是負資產, 應清楚了解樓價足以償清按揭欠款及業主贖樓能力, 以免損失。
  2. 遇上上述情況, 從業員應提醒買家在簽署臨時買賣合約時, 聲明合約的有效性端視業主在成交日或之前能否解除所有按揭/ 押記, 並要求代表律師在草擬正式買賣合約前對有關問題採取適當步驟, 以保障客戶利益。
  3. 代表業主的代理亦應促請業主主動提供按揭還款証明, 以便交易能順利進行。
1999 年 3 月 30 日


活動月曆

將會舉行的持續專業進修計劃和資格考試

更多
持牌人

持牌人常用快速連結

更多
消費者專區

給消費者的有用資料及常見問題

更多
準備考牌

成為持牌人前的有用資料

更多