en-USzh-HKzh-CN
CIRCULARS

Circular No. 03-08 (CR) June 2003
Execution of Deeds by Corporations

A deed executed by a limited company shall have been executed in accordance with its articles of association and sealed with the company seal.

In perusing title documents executed by corporations, solicitors would check if they are executed in accordance with the relevant articles of association and may even demand to see the relevant board resolutions in order to establish due execution.

In the past, disputes on title or even litigation might arise because of uncertainty on authorization and/or inconclusive evidence of due execution by corporations. The Legislative Council has recently amended the law as regards the presumption of due execution. For the purposes of proof of title for property transactions entered into on or after 9 May 2003, any deed shall be presumed to have been duly executed, unless the contrary is proved, if the signatory/ies could have been authorized under the relevant articles of association. For deeds executed not less than 15 years, the presumption is conclusive.

The said amendment will expedite the conveyancing process by curing formal title defects which are not substantive. For details, please refer to section 9 of the Law Amendment and Reform (Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance 2003 (14 of 2003) which was gazetted on 9 May 2003.

EVENT CALENDAR

Upcoming schedule of CPD and Examinations

Learn More
LICENSEE

Useful quick links for Licensees

Learn More
CONSUMER CORNER

FAQ and useful information for consumers

Learn More
PROSPECTIVE LICENSEE

Useful information before becoming an estate agent

Learn More

en-USzh-HKzh-CN
通告

通 告 編 號 03-08( CR)


有關有限公司簽立契據的法律修訂

有限公司簽立契據(deed),須按其組織章程細則的規定由代表簽署及蓋上公司鋼印, 方為有效。

律師在審視物業業權文件, 遇上由有限公司簽立的契據時, 會仔細審視簽署人的數目及身分是否符合有關的組織章程細則, 甚至會要求出示董事會會議記錄, 以確定簽署人有妥當授權。

過去曾出現因為權限不清晰, 及/ 或缺少有效簽立的確切證明, 以致阻延交易甚至引起訴訟。立法會最近通過法例, 就2003 年5 月9 日及之後立約的物業交易的業權證明而言, 所有在該日期前由有限公司簽立的契據, 如果代表公司簽署的人表面上可根據有關的組織章程細則獲授權, 則除非出現相反證據, 否則假設簽立有效。倘契據訂立在十五年或之前, 則其簽立的有效性更無容置疑。

以上修訂相信可解決不涉實質業權而純屬簽立程序上的問題, 令物業交易更加 順。有關修訂詳情, 可參閱刊載於2003 年5 月9 日《 政府憲報》的《 2003 年法律修訂及改革( 雜項修訂) 條​​例》 ( 2003 年第14 號) 第9 條。

2003 年 6 月
活動月曆

將會舉行的持續專業進修計劃和資格考試

更多
持牌人

持牌人常用快速連結

更多
消費者專區

給消費者的有用資料及常見問題

更多
準備考牌

成為持牌人前的有用資料

更多