en-USzh-HKzh-CN
CIRCULARS

Circular No. 01-07 (CR) May 2001
Estate Agency Agreement (2)

Validity Period

Under general contract law principles, a contract may be vitiated by the uncertainty of its fundamental terms. The rights of the parties under the contract may be adversely affected.

Practitioners should bear in mind that the validity period of the prescribed estate agency agreement is a fundamental term for ascertaining the parties' respective rights and obligations. Uncertainty and dispute may arise if "Until further notice" or "Until the Property is sold (or rented)" is entered as the expiry date of the validity period. When an estate agent enters into an estate agency agreement with his/her client, the commencement date and the expiry date of the agreement must be clearly stated therein.

If the agent and the client agree to amend or prolong the validity period, they may do so by amending and initialing against the relevant clause.

 

List Price

Section 9(3) of the Practice Regulation provides that estate agents shall not advertise a property at a price or rental different from that instructed by the client concerned. The List Price/Rental in the estate agency agreement (Form 3/5) is the price/rental indicated by the vendor/landlord for the purpose of issuing advertisements in respect of the relevant property. Some clients may opt for a range of price/rental instead of a fixed sum when listing.

Routine compliance checks by the Authority have revealed some unreasonable ranges of price such as "$0-$1,500,000" or "$1-$2,000,000" as the list price. Such list prices may affect the certainty of the estate agency agreement and give rise to disputes.

Estate agency practitioners should serve their clients with honesty, fidelity and integrity. When assisting their clients in listing, they should provide the latest market information for the purpose of enabling their clients to arrive at a realistic list price/rental.

EVENT CALENDAR

Upcoming schedule of CPD and Examinations

Learn More
LICENSEE

Useful quick links for Licensees

Learn More
CONSUMER CORNER

FAQ and useful information for consumers

Learn More
PROSPECTIVE LICENSEE

Useful information before becoming an estate agent

Learn More

en-USzh-HKzh-CN
通告

 

通 告 編 號 01-07( CR)


「 地產代理協議」(2)

協議的有效期

按合約法的原則, 合約中的主要條款若欠明確, 會影嚮合約的有效性, 令立約雙方的權利得不到應有的保障。

從業員應明白「 地產代理協議」 為法定文件, 有效期是其中重要的指定條款, 詳細界定有效期的目的是讓立約雙方清楚明瞭各自的義務與責任於何時有效。如在有效期屆滿日填上「 直至另行通知」 或「 直至物業售出( 或租出) 為止」 等, 則容易引起混淆, 導致日後爭議, 故地產代理與客戶簽訂「 地產代理協議」 時, 須清楚以年月日界定有效期的開始與屆滿。

其實, 若代理與客戶雙方同意更改或延長有效期, 可簡單地在適當位置作出修改, 然後簡簽作實。

放 盤 價

《 常規規例》 第9(3)條規定, 地產代理不得以有別於客戶指示的放盤價/租金刊登樓盤廣告。 「 地產代理協議」 ( 表格3/5) 內放盤價/租金一欄, 乃供放盤及作廣告宣傳之用。部份客戶可能選擇以一價格幅度, 取代一固定金額。

監管局近日巡查發現, 部份「 地產代理協議」 放盤價一欄內填上一些大大脫離現實的幅度, 例如「 0-150萬」 或「 1-200萬」 。此舉有可能影響該條款的明確性, 容易導致日後出現爭議。

地產代理從業員必須秉持誠實、 忠誠和嚴正的態度為客戶提供服務。因此, 從業員有責任在客戶放盤時, 向客戶提供市場最新資料, 供作參考, 從而訂出符合實際的放盤價。

2001 年 5 月
活動月曆

將會舉行的持續專業進修計劃和資格考試

更多
持牌人

持牌人常用快速連結

更多
消費者專區

給消費者的有用資料及常見問題

更多
準備考牌

成為持牌人前的有用資料

更多