en-USzh-HKzh-CN
CIRCULARS

Circular No. 02-01 (CR) January 2002
Criminal Liability for Using Pirated Computer Software

According to the Copyright Ordinance (Cap. 528) as amended last year, any person who, without the licence of the copyright owner, knowingly and in the course of business possesses any infringing copy of copyright work commits an offence. The offence is committed even if the person does not sell or deal in the infringing copies. Employers and employees are equally liable for such infringing acts and may be subject to a maximum penalty of 4 years of imprisonment and a fine of $50,000 for each infringing copy.

The Legislative Council later passed the Copyright (Suspension of Amendments) Ordinance 2001 suspending the application of the criminal provisions to copyright works other than computer software, movies, television dramas and musical recordings. For these 4 categories, the criminal provisions outlined above continue to apply. As to the other categories, the criminal provisions will revert to the position before the amendments took effect for the Government to formulate long-term solutions after public consultation.

Since the amendments took effect on 1 April 2001, the Customs and Excise Department has taken frequent actions against cases of copyright infringement including making arrests and prosecutions. Practitioners should under no circumstances use pirated or unauthorized computer software in their business operation. 

EVENT CALENDAR

Upcoming schedule of CPD and Examinations

Learn More
LICENSEE

Useful quick links for Licensees

Learn More
CONSUMER CORNER

FAQ and useful information for consumers

Learn More
PROSPECTIVE LICENSEE

Useful information before becoming an estate agent

Learn More

en-USzh-HKzh-CN
通告
通 告 編 號 02-01( CR)


使用盜版電腦軟件的刑事責任

根據去年修訂的《 版權條例》 ( 第528 章) , 任何人未獲版權擁有人的特許, 在知情情況下在業務過程中管有侵犯版權的複製品, 即使並非售賣該等複製品, 亦屬刑事罪行, 僱主及職員均有可能被判罪, 最高刑罰為入獄四年, 以及就每件侵權物品罰款$50,000。

立法會其後通過《 2001 年版權( 暫停實施修訂) 條例》, 把刑事條文範圍略為收窄, 但上述的刑事責任仍適用於電腦軟件、 電影、 電視劇或電視電影、 音樂等四類作品。至於這四類作品以外的其他版權作品, 有關的刑事條文則回復至未修訂前的情況, 待政府諮詢公眾後再製訂長遠的解決方案。

自修訂條例於去年4 月1 日生效以來, 海關經常採取行動, 就侵犯版權的個案作出拘捕及檢控。從業員應留意其用於業務上的版權製品, 切勿使用盜版或未獲適當特許的電腦軟件, 干犯刑事罪行。

2002 年 1 月
活動月曆

將會舉行的持續專業進修計劃和資格考試

更多
持牌人

持牌人常用快速連結

更多
消費者專區

給消費者的有用資料及常見問題

更多
準備考牌

成為持牌人前的有用資料

更多