en-USzh-HKzh-CN
CIRCULARS

Circular No. 01-08 (CR) May 2001
Confirmor Sales

There are certain risks in confirmor sales. To protect the interests of the confirmor and the sub-purchaser, practitioners should pay attention to the following when handling this type of transactions.

1. Regarding Confirmor

     
a.   Practitioners should remind the confirmor to examine the agreement for sale and purchase between the vendor and the confirmor to see if there is any restriction on subsale.
b.   In the event of the sub-purchaser being unable to complete the subsale, the confirmor should be ready to complete the sale in accordance with the agreement for sale and purchase with the vendor. Otherwise, the confirmor will be in breach of his/her agreement for sale and purchase with the vendor.
c.   On completion, if the confirmor needs to transfer the balance of purchase price payable by the sub-purchaser to the vendor, sufficient time should be allowed for making the said transfer. It is advisable that the completion time for the subsale agreement should precede that for the original agreement for sale and purchase.
     
     
2. Regarding Sub-purchaser
     
a.   The sub-purchaser would normally have no opportunity to inspect the relevant property before he/she enters into the subsale agreement. Practitioners should alert the sub-purchaser to the risks of no inspection and try to arrange for an inspection before completion.
b.   Practitioners should explain to the sub-purchaser that the terms of the subsale agreement are subject to those of the original agreement for sale and purchase. For example, if the confirmor has accepted any structural alteration in the original agreement, the sub-purchaser has to accept the same under the subsale agreement. Attention should be paid to whether the balance of purchase price payable by the sub-purchaser is sufficient to cover the balance of purchase price payable by the confirmor under the original agreement.
c.   If the confirmor is unable to complete, the transaction may be delayed or fall through. In such an event the sub-purchaser will not be able to purchase the property and may have to resort to legal proceedings to obtain the refund of the deposits and any damages.
d.   The sub-purchaser may request the confirmor to execute an irrevocable power of attorney so that in the event that the confirmor is unable to complete the sub-purchaser may complete the transaction as the attorney of the confirmor. The sub-purchaser should be advised to seek legal advice.
     
     
3. Ascertain Confirmor has Power to Sell
     
    To ascertain whether the confirmor has power to sub-sell, an agent should carry out a land search of the relevant property before arranging for the confirmor and the sub-purchaser to enter into a subsale agreement. The agreement for sale and purchase entered into between the vendor and the confirmor should also be examined to determine the terms of the agreement, including but not limited to any restriction on subsale.
     
     
4. Disclosure of Commission
     
    If an agent acts for both the vendor and the confirmor in the original sale and purchase and also for both the confirmor and the sub-purchaser in the subsale, then the agent has to disclose to all the parties any commission receivable from the others in accordance with section 36(1)(a)(vii) of the Estate Agents Ordinance. That includes disclosing to the vendor any commission receivable from the confirmor and the sub-purchaser.


EVENT CALENDAR

Upcoming schedule of CPD and Examinations

Learn More
LICENSEE

Useful quick links for Licensees

Learn More
CONSUMER CORNER

FAQ and useful information for consumers

Learn More
PROSPECTIVE LICENSEE

Useful information before becoming an estate agent

Learn More

en-USzh-HKzh-CN
通告

 

通 告 編 號 01-08( CR)


有關確認人轉讓物業事宜

以「 轉售協議」 ( subsale agreement) 的形式轉讓物業, 往往有一定的風險。為保障確認人( confirmor) 與轉購人( sub-purchaser) 利益, 地產代理在處理確認人轉讓物業時應注意以下事項: ─

(一)

有關確認人方面

a. 從業員應提醒確認人, 在出售物業前, 應查閱確認人與業主所簽訂的買賣協議內是否有條款禁止確認人將物業轉售予第三者。
b. 若轉購人不能成交, 確認人便應準備完成向業主購入物業的手續, 否則便會違反與業主達成的買賣協議。
c. 在物業成交時, 若確認人須將轉購人所繳付之樓價餘款轉交予業主, 為確保確認人有充裕時間遞送該樓價餘款, 從業員應建議確認人與轉購人協定成交時間早於確認人與業主的成交時間。
(二) 有關轉購人方面
a. 一般情況下, 轉購人在簽訂轉售協議前沒有機會視察物業。從業員應提醒轉購人不視察物業的風險。從業員亦應與確認人盡量安排轉購人在成交前視察物業。
b. 從業員應向轉購人解釋, 轉售協議條款是受到確認人與業主簽訂的買賣協議約束, 例如買賣協議內訂明買方( 確認人) 接受某結構性改動, 轉售協議中的轉購人也得接受該結構性改動等。此外, 更應留意轉購人須付的樓價餘款是否足夠支付確認人須付予業主的樓價餘款。
c. 如確認人不能完成交易, 買賣便會受到影響而須延期完成或令交易告吹, 轉購人不但不能如期購買物業, 更有可能須訴諸法律方可取回已付的訂金或得到賠償。
d. 轉購人可要求確認人簽署一份不可反悔的授權書( irrevocable power of attorney) , 以保障如確認人因任何原因不能完成交易, 轉購人亦可以其授權人身分簽署樓契以完成買賣。因此, 從業員應建議轉購人諮詢法律意見。
(三) 查證確認人有權轉售
從業員在與確認人及轉購人訂立轉售協議前, 必須就有關物業進行土地查冊, 以確保確認人有權轉售物業, 並盡可能審視確認人與業主所簽訂的有效買賣協議, 以了解其中條款, 特別是有無轉售限制等。
(四) 披 露 傭 金
代理如果在確認人與業主的交易中代表雙方, 然後再在確認人與轉售人的交易中代表雙方, 那末根據《 地產代理條例》 第36(1)(a )(vii)條, 代理須向所有客戶披露從其他客戶收取的佣金, 包括向業主披露會向確認人與轉售人收取多少佣金。


2001 年 5 月
活動月曆

將會舉行的持續專業進修計劃和資格考試

更多
持牌人

持牌人常用快速連結

更多
消費者專區

給消費者的有用資料及常見問題

更多
準備考牌

成為持牌人前的有用資料

更多